Donna Golding's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Donna’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 70, Female
  • Member since 2021
  • Psychologist
  • PhD
  • From Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Born in Vancouver Canada. As an adult, I lived in Australia from 1981 to 2019 when I returned to Vancouver.
As a psychologist, I learned from some of my clients about Couchsurfing. And I tried this myself on one of my trips to the USA. It was fabulous. I was speaking to someone recently and the topic of couchsurfing came up. So here I am, back on CS, and hoping to travel soon.

Prior to learning psychology, I had a health food retail store. So I learned about natural, health foods and healing. Later, after learning about the physical body, I studied psychology and learned about the mind, brain, thinking, and emotions. I continued studies to learn about states of consciousness, including spirituality and intuitive ways of knowing. So I have some academic and professional understanding of mind, body and spirit. But there is so much to learn and many new studies providing more information and more questions!!!! As well as the human being, I attended astrophysics public seminars at one of the universities I went to. So I have a touch of knowledge about the cosmos. And as I got more into understanding meditation, I also became involved in theology. Yes, you can say I am a curious person!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I sometimes travel on my own, and find it nice if a host is able to assist with their knowledge of their city from a living there, versus, tourists point of view.

I am a very open-minded and curious person. From my psychology business, I learned a lot about all sorts of people, their lives, hopes, dreams, stumbling blocks and potential. So CS will be another way to meet, learn about and share with new people. I hope to inspire others that I meet and as well as surfing, can offer some hosting.

Interests

  • culture
  • concerts
  • meditation
  • hiking
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • parks
  • spirituality
  • bike riding
  • restaurants
  • gardens
  • astrophysics
  • nature walks
  • theosophy
  • natural foods
  • archetecture

Music, Movies, and Books

Eclectic music, but not too much into rap and really loud music.
Movies: comedies, drama, medical, legal, documentaries. Last move I saw was “Respect” a great movie about the life of Aretha Franklin.
I do watch YouTubes, including TED Talks. Recently was introduced to Intellegence Squared (with a 2).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I visited and lived a primitive lifestyle on a small Fijian island. Simply wonderful and wonderfully simple.

Teach, Learn, Share

What I can and do share is my knowledge on Transpersonal Psychology, the study of mind, body, spirit and soul. I am retired now, and do volunteer teaching and counseling.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation, happy vibes, smiles and encouragement.
I am very good at walking (long distances), hiking, and cycling; so could join you on any of these if you wanted.
I am calm, easy-going and enthusiastic.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Donna’s full profile.