Dorka Balázs's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 16 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dorka’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Hungarian; learning Arabic
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Student
  • Studying Middle Eastern Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learning Arabic

ABOUT ME

Let's see, these are the things that come to my mind first...

I love food. Cooking, baking, eating, sharing, watching, smelling. And tea. I'm an activist of the Migrant Solidarity Group of Hungary and have been doing different voluntary work with refugees for years so I could talk about this topic for hours. I'm a feminist. I have a passion for drag queens! I love being with children, I guess I am also kind of still one... and animals! And sleeping next to my dog. I tend to have hundreds of plans for one day weeks before, and change them in the very last minute. I also tend to tell really awkward things that only I find funny. Laugh at even the lamest jokes. I always take 10 books from the library and panic that I won't have time to read them all.... I love walking and talking until both my feet and tongue hurts. I love going to concerts half a day before to get to the first row. I love flea markets and I play the djembe.

PHILOSOPHY

"Our own life has to be our message." ~ Thích Nhat Hạnh

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfing is one of the best things about the internet, I have met some of my best friends through CS! I love getting to see the world through the eyes of people who come from a very different background than mine and even though I sadly have very limited possibilities to host people, whenever I have time I'm happy to share "my Berlin" with other people!

Interests

  • animals
  • books
  • swing dancing
  • lgbt rights
  • human rights
  • cooking
  • baking
  • politics
  • music
  • hiking
  • food
  • nature
  • feminism
  • veganism
  • gender equality

Music, Movies, and Books

I love music! Huge fan of Michael Jackson and some other favorites of mine include Seeed, Mashrou Leila and I love Palestinian rap.

I mostly like watching documentaries or movies about inspirational people.

Reading is something that I could do for hours and just completely get lost in the book, I love the smell of old books and could spend my whole day in a library!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

There are just so many totally amazing things that have happened to me, I can consider myself a really happy person. But I think the most amazing moment was holding my baby dog in my hands for the first time after he decided that he wants me to be his human...

Teach, Learn, Share

Let's share a cup of tea, laughter and good food :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking, some African rhythms on the djembe, serious talks about political activism, stupid jokes and laughter

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Italy, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Hungary

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Dorka’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups