Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 40 References 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Slovak
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Teacher/Writer
  • MFA at Iowa State / BA at Towson University
  • From College Park, Maryland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in the Maryland suburbs of DC and currently live in Mexico where I work for a US company remotely. I've traveled quite a bit, mostly in the Americas, usually on low budget. I love to camp, hike, read, bike, cook, farm, and I'm usually working on a book project.

Hola! Soy de Maryland, los Estados Unidos y estoy viviendo en México ahora. He viajado mucho, la mayor parte en America del Sur y Norte y Europa, en general con poco dinero. Me encanta acampar, el excursionismo, correr, trabajar en jardines, cocinar, y también soy escritor de poemas y prosa.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been using couchsurfing since 2008, trying to surf whenever I travel and hosting whenever I have stable living arrangements. I've met such kind and wonderful people through the site, and have endeavored to return a bit of that kindness with whatever I can offer to fellow travelers.

Interests

Writing and reading fiction and poetry. This planet, especially the oceans and Appalachia. Farms and gardens and good food. Basketball. Hiking, biking, kayaking, or whatever gets me outside, dirty, and tired.

  • writing
  • books
  • poetry
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • basketball
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

So much. I read a lot right now, so: Richard Wright, Anthony Doerr, Rick Bass, Mary Oliver, Wendell Berry, Barbara Kingsolver, Louise Erdrich, Willa Cather.

I love film and studied it as an undergrad. I haven't lived in a town with a real theater for quite some time and haven't had a television in ten years, so my knowledge isn't always current though!

Music: Neutral Milk Hotel, Pavement, Pixies, Fleet Foxes, Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Grizzly Bear, Arcade Fire, Animal Collective. I'm also into some folk, bluegrass, and traditional music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiked from the U.S. Pacific coast to the Atlantic coast.

Lived in an intentional community in the DC suburbs.

Snorkeled with sea lions off the Mexican coast.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am an English teacher for a living right now, so if you're practicing your English, I can be a patient conversation partner.

I want to learn to dance and speak fluent Spanish. At the same time, preferably.

Share meals, stories, ideas, and walks.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belize, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Mexico, Slovakia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups