ROSIE GRIEVE's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ROSIE’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 44, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Dancer & Anthropology Enthusiast
  • Studied Fine Arts in Liverpool
  • From Norwich, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Living in Barcelona learning jazz dance and anthropology. I moved there in 2017 deliberately to explore the amazing Catalan Swing dance community. I love dance as a way to connect to people of the past and the present.

ABOUT ME

I'm a curious happy swing dancer in the process of redesigning my life a little outside of the capitalist norm. I stand by greater kindness, open mindedness, creativity and transparency to name but a few virtues! and am trying to 'walk the talk' and 'be the change I want to see in the world'.

I love meeting new people and hearing the stories that every person brings. I love spontaneity and improvisation. I love vegan food.....talking about, cooking, eating and sharing.

PHILOSOPHY

The world is one big playground waiting to be explored. The world is definitely your OYSTER - I love this simple poetic expression.

El mundo es una gran zona de juegos esperando a ser explorado. El mundo es definitivamente su OYSTER - Me encanta esta expresión poética simple.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I`ve had a wanderlust from a young age and am finally on the road. I am happy woman with a strong artistic streak. I love meeting new people and sharing stories and experiences. To inpire and be inspired is one of the best ways to spend time.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted a little when I lived in Manchester years ago. Travelling in Brazil was a great opportunity to surf and this transformed my trip. I met some wonderful people in Rio, Sao Paulo and Bahia. CS became a way of life. Cool people are abundant. Humans are kind :-)

Interests

Dancing and watching others dance! music, sub cultures, youth cultures, anthropology, food, adventure, stories, jokes, admiring Mother Nature in urban life or rural life.

Combining all of this with making new friends along the way: connecting with other humans, and enjoying the camaraderie of old friends too.

  • singing
  • fashion
  • street art
  • contemporary art
  • illustrations
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • contemporary dancing
  • cooking
  • raw food
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • marathon
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • jazz
  • blues
  • boxing
  • anthropology
  • history
  • mountains
  • activism
  • contact improvisation
  • improvisation
  • social activism
  • illustration
  • contemporary dance
  • anarchy

Music, Movies, and Books

Recent film favourites: 'Moonlight', 'Get Out' and 'I am not your Negro' - documentary about James Baldwin. World cinema in general but particularly Turkish film maker Fatih Akin (Head On, Edge of Heaven). Also Terence Mallick 'Days of Heaven' - aaaaaah! beautiful :-)

Music: old jazz, swing, blues, bluegrass, folk, ragtime, most old soul music, Tamla Motown...The Smiths...1950s rock and roll...Brazilian forro and samba.....Jonathan Kowalski and the Sexy Wierdos.

Books: any words by the philospher Alan Watts. The Tibetan Book of the Dead. Eckhart Tolle.
I just started reading The Swing Book by Degen Pener - anything to do with dance & anthropology. Biographies. I also love a good travel story. 'Lois on the Loose' is great! I can thoroughly recommend it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I felt my soul expand in northern Argentina....the mountains in Iruya and Garganta del Diablo in TIlcara completely awoke my senses. I felt blessed to be there...a small human within that awe-inspiring landscape.

Experiencing numerous 'blocos' in the streets of Rio during Carnaval. It was so incredible I cried in the street. So much colour, community, music, singing, fantastic costumes, hot sun. I felt like I was on another planet.

Dancing Lindy hop in Cambridge, UK at CLX (Cambridge Lindy Exchange) was a wonderful weekend of non-stop dance to live swing, jazz and blues bands. I floated home on a cloud of joy at the end of it.

Seeing flying fish in Greece a long time ago. Wow! they made me gasp.

Teach, Learn, Share

-LINDY HOP! (it would be my pleasure!)
-Painting and drawing (I try to carry a little box of watercolours with me always)
-British English ....slang?
-Hoop dance (if you have a hula hoop_
-Vegan and vegetarian cuisine (+ raw food) I l-l-l-l-l-love cooking!

What I Can Share with Hosts

-My stories of travel and life so far - I love to share ideas.
-Painting and drawing together :-)
-English quirks such as constant tea drinking, haha! and English slang.
-I love to cook and would be happy to make you a delicious bite. I make an excellent tortilla, carrot cake,....'dorset apple cake', pancakes and green smoothies.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, France, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see ROSIE’s full profile.

My Groups