Wants to Meet Up

  • 92% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Edy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 56 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, French, German, Italian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Occasional Photographer and Explorer
  • Bachelors in English & Rhetoric
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore, learn, share it all with friends new and old.

ABOUT ME

I am a native of Los Angeles. I have called this city home for more than 20 years and simply love to show it to others. I am also a Cal grad with a degree in English and Rhetoric, which means I have spent time in the San Francisco Bay area. At the moment I am not fully sure what I want to do, but I know that before I make the decision to settle down completely I want to take the time to see as much of the world as possible. While at it, I want to meet and learn from as many people as I can along the way.
I am working on a Photo Project where I would like to photograph and interview locals and passers by in Los Angeles to see what are their thoughts on the city. If you would like to be part of my project let me know. :)

PHILOSOPHY
"Try Again, Fail Again, Fail Better" -Samuel Beckett
Learn from failure, because you learn more about yourself if you try and fail than if you simply succeed all the time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I participate by helping travelers discover Los Angeles. It is the city I grew up in and with. I love this city and want people to have the best experience they can in it. I do this by going to events as well as organizing CS events, the one I am most proud of is my Downtown Los Angeles tours; which, I hope fives locals an travelers a better idea of the city and its history.
I open the doors to my family's home to travelers who wish to share their stories and culture while my family shares our home with them. To note, my family does not know about couch surfing, the concept is too strange for them, so when I do invite or accept surfers over I tell them that they are people I've met while I travel or school friends. This is why, I only will host from time to time. Also I don't like inundating my family, in particular my mother, with guest at home. My mom is very generous and I don't want like feeling like I am troubling her with too many guest.
At home, we can teaching others about our Mexican and American culture.
I can cook different types of foods and will be glad to teach you how to make American or Mexican Food; although my mother could help a lot more with that. I can help you with your English and, as a family, with Spanish.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couchsurfed in Argentina in January '13 for the first time. I really thank my first host for introducing me to their country and for teaching me how to be a good host and surfer.

I have hosted several surfers now in Los Angeles, but again I only do so a few times a year. My hosting experiences have all been great ones. You can read about them in references.

Interests

Movies, Music, Languages, Literature, Cooking, Photography, learning from others, etc.

  • culture
  • literature
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • mexican food
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • surfing
  • history
  • languages
  • tours

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: 500 Days of Summer, Back to the Future, Inception, Tetro, Real Genius.
Music: The Replacements, The Beatles, Husker Du, Classical, Jazz, The Stranglers, punk, college, alternative, Old School Hip-Hop, I general like most music.
Books/Writers: Hemingway -The Sun Also Rises/Oldman and the Sea, TS Eliot, James Joyce -Dubliners/Ulysses, Douglas Adams -The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Jorge Luis Borges

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have had the opportunity to travel to different places in the world in my own, with good friends, total strangers, and family.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach:
Cooking, I may not know much but what I do I'll share.
Spanish and/or English
Help me Learn: French, German Italian, your own language.
I'll share all that I can.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Edy’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups