Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 18 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Danish, German, Indonesian, Malay, Norwegian, Russian
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Researcher, programmer, crocheter
  • PhD human ecology, comp sci engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To make A4 happy


Grew up with arctic genes in Uppsala, Sweden, but later on moving down to Lund/Malmö to study. Moved to Budapest in 2011 tyo do a postdoc. Since feb 2015, I live in Florence, doing another postdoc. No idea where to go to after that, but I just love the idea to travel around various cities/unis and work.

Spent a year in Wollongong, Australia, in 88-89 and did some complementary backpacking around the area in 1992 and 1995. Went back to Malaysia in 2008 - saya cinta negara itu! Finished my PhD in september 2010, also running a small consulting company on sustainability and programming since 1999.

Have some other projects in the pipeline - one concerned with the ethnography of turtles, backpackers and contrasting views on nature. Just a poor excuse to get back to pulau Tioman, i know...

I live smack in the middle of district V, very close to the basilica. The lack of breakfast food in my fridge is compensated by my keen knowledge of good cafes in the area.

Spare time: hanging out with friends, crocheting, sitting at cafes, working, sketching on projects, etc.


Before doing anything, ask yourself: Do i truly want to do this? Or do I want to do this because I want to be a person who would enjoy things like this? If the latter, then reconsider.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Hosted a bit. Only couched once (at a former-cs-guest-turned-friend!).


Crocheting, music/jamming, squash, traveling, languages, woodwork, handicrafts, digital circuit design, programming etc.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Moon, Cargo, Last Night, Bom yeoreum gaeul gyeoul geurigo bom, Vacas, etc

Music: Zero 7, Cinematic orchestra, Elbow, Kashmir, Talking heads, Art of noise, Tindersticks, Band of Joy etc

Book: "The water-method man" (John Irving) - got it from an english backpacker in Berastagi, Sumatra, and that book changed my life!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The world.

Teach, Learn, Share

Yay, this was a fun heading! Soldering, arcade game maintenance, (formal) social network analysis, non-monetary measures on ecological resource consumption, peak-oil issues, php/mysql programming, Ecological Footprint methodology, bahasa basics, crocheting, world system analysis etc

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Macedonia, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Hungary, Italy, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups