Elena Klaver's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 71% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elena’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 64, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • professional interpreter (Spanish/English) and musician
  • BA in environmental biology, and advanced studies in life...
  • From Paumanok, now known as Long Island, NY
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live in the best way I can, actively involved in making the world a better place, while having fun as well.

ABOUT ME

Active in peace, justice, environmental work, love to birdwatch and get outside, love connecting people with each other. Activa en cuestiones de paz, justicia, y asuntos ambientales, me encanta observar aves y estar afuera, me encanta conectarles a las personas.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

in many groups, through the local community radio (KGNU), and through being as open minded as possible. I have hosted a number of people butnever have been able to stay with anyone.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

none through this group yet!

Interests

Playing music, birdwatching, hiking, beadwork and other crafts, cooking delicious healthy food, biking, doing yoga, singing kirtan, playing with kids and cats (and some dogs but only the smart ones), almost anything outside, no TV. Tocar música, observar aves, caminar afuera, trabajar en chaquira y otras manualidades, cocinar comida rica y saludable, andar en bicicleta, practicar yoga, cantar kirtan, jugar con niños y gatos (y algunos perros pero solo los inteligentes), casi cualquier actividad afuera, nada de TV

  • cats
  • dogs
  • singing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • crafts
  • flying
  • tv
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Nueva canción, Silvio Rodríguez, Dúo Guardabarranco, folk music from North America, Claudia Schmidt,Townes Van Zandt, other acoustic singer songwriters. Books: anything by Eduardo Galeano, Isabel Allende, Luis Alberto Urrea, Barbara Kingsolver, Benjamin Alire Saenz, Linda Hogan, Louise Erdrich, Leslie Marmon Silko

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

being in the Grand Canyon for 21 days on a raft, ir al Gran Cañón del Río Colorado en balsa para 21 días

being at 14,000 feet in Ecuador and seeing condors flying, estar en las montañas de Ecuador alrededor de 14,00 pies, viendo volar cóndores

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a couch, and a very small room where we can out up an inflatable mattress. Also, I have two cats, so it is not a good place for those allergic to cats. Tengo un sofá, y un cuartito pequeño donde se puede poner un colchón de aire. También tengo dos gatos, así que no es un lugar indicado para aquellos con alergias a los gatos.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, England, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Peru, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Elena’s full profile.

My Groups