Logo orange

Elise Tan

Washington, DC, USA

Maybe Accepting Guests

50% response rate · Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elise's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Malay
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Lawyer at the World Bank
  • Graduate (English B.A.) + Postgrad i...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

👠 Keywords: Lived in Europe, Asia and Australia. Now I live and work in Washington DC. Special places I know well: Singapore and England. International law and development; banking & corporate finance. ✈ Travel. Pilates & the gym. Literature, Art, Film.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I love travelling, and meeting new people, in different places.

Music, Movies & Books

Too many to include here...I have an artistic side. It's introspective, meditative, but also not too serious. I appreciate good photography, art films, paintings, literature and of course, good music. As I write this, I'm thinking of the Rodin exhibition I just saw not too long ago in Montreal. There are of course others, painters, and writers, that I appreciate and enjoy. I also like good live music; I think I know what's good when I hear it, and then it's delightful.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My life is a two-part story:

Part I. Left home at 17 to live in England.

Part II. Decided on a legal career at 28.

So far, I've never looked back.

Teach, Learn, Share

We never stop learning about ourselves through interacting with others.

What I Can Share With Hosts

The culmination of my experiences living, studying and working in Asia, the US, and England, has made me what and who I am today...basically, an evolving work-in-progress. Many parts put together...make us who we are. I suppose I can sincerely and graciously share who I am, with anyone who hosts me.

Countries I've Visited

China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Italy, Malaysia, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Japan, Netherlands, Singapore, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Elise's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile