Ella Yates's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ella’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Italian; learning French, Irish
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Mural Artist
  • Bachelors University of Northern Colorado
  • From CO, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Hi! I am a full time mural painter who has painted over a hundred murals in churches and schools around the world. I have been living mostly in Dingle, Ireland since 2000, but have lived/painted in about ten countries. My website is www.eeyates.com if you are interested in my work.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I would like to try Couchsurfing because in some places I visit, the price of hotels is too high for my simple life. I often stay with families and in convents with Sisters when I am painting murals around the world. But when I am between mural projects and traveling to new places, I would like to stay with people rather than in lifeless hotels. It is the best way to learn and explore, share and be inspired.

Interests

  • harp
  • italian
  • murals
  • irish

Music, Movies, and Books

I tend to like the inspirational, mythical and ancient books. I'm always studying. My favorite podcasts are On Being, TED Radio Hour and A Writer's Almanac. I prefer lighter, uplifting movies and music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I took art lessons in Florence, in Italian, in order to learn the ancient art technique of fresco (painting pure pigments onto wet limestone plaster in the way Michaelangelo painted the Sistene Chapel.) Then I went up to Dingle, Ireland and painted a buon fresco Last Supper of local men, art objects and landscapes.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to teach, learn and share! I know restoration and mural painting well. I also play the harp and piano and know juggling pretty well. I'm often teaching classes how to paint murals.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my art - decorate something or draw a portrait of someone. I am very clean and always leave a place cleaner than how I found it. I suppose my life goal as a traveling artist is to brighten up the places that I visit.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, England, Gambia, New Zealand, Philippines, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Ella’s full profile. It’s free!