Logo orange

Elle Mead

Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China

Accepting Guests

0% response rate · Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elle's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Indonesian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • 8 months in to a retail start up ven...
  • BA Southeast Asian Studies
  • From London
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Here is the test to find whether your mission on earth is finished. If you're alive, it isn't.

ABOUT ME

After 3 years in downtown Hong Kong it was time for a break and I'm now living on a tiny car-free island 20 minutes away from HK city by ferry. I haven't been using my CS profile much in the past year, but wanderlust is starting to hit again, so it's time to get back online and see what adventures I can find.

Im generally a relaxed person, but I love to be doing something, from hiking up the nearest mountain to sitting out the afternoon rain drinking with friends, to setting off to find a random place with only the vaguest idea of the direction (as a result I sometimes end up in some pretty weird places and situations, but its always 'the road less travelled':) oh, and if i end up next to you on the road/in the pool/on the water, I cannot resist turning it into a race, gotta be the fastest!

PHILOSOPHY

Adventure without risk is just Disneyland.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've met some incredible people through CS who kindly hosted me, and I'm happy to finally be in a position to host others. The island I'm living on has a very relaxed, laid back vibe and is a total departure from the hectic city of Hong Kong, so if you want a break and a chance to see 'old Hong Kong' ping me a line.

Interests

sailing, swimming, reading, hiking, surfing, yoga.
Beginner kite surfer, hoping to improve on this as I go.

Music, Movies & Books

Books: a real variety,& i read a lot. My latest is The Mona Lisa Stratagem by Harriet Rubin. I'm one of those rare oddballs who actually prefers carting around real books over a kindle, and can sniff out a library from 1000 paces.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

-Sailed from the UK to Brazil in September 2009, a 40 day, 6,000nm trip with 3 days stuck in the Doldrums going absolutely nowhere! (a beautiful, at times frustrating yet fulfilling voyage)
-Drove around Western Australia in Dec/Jan 2010
- Hiked 100km from east to west across HK in 2012
- Started a company in 2013....the adventure continues!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an experienced sailor, beginner surfer and kite surfer and keen swimmer/water baby so whilst sailing is really 'my thing' getting onto the water in any capacity excites me.. i can teach you to sail and race dinghies, keelboats, yachts and ribs.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belize, Brazil, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Indonesia, Malaysia, Malta, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I've Lived In

China

Join Couchsurfing to see Elle's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile