Logo orange

Ellyn Bitume

Boulder, CO, USA

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellyn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 85 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch, French, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Post-doc
  • Let's just say, professional student...
  • From Livingston, NJ
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Now we must consider in general the common reason for moving with any movement whatever.

ABOUT ME

I went from a suburban NJ girl to living in Bruxelles, Belgium stopping for a few years in Boulder, CO; Leiden, Netherlands, and Montpellier, France. I've been going to school all the while, and I finished my PhD in ecology and evolutionary biology. I'm about to start a Post-doc at CSU in Fort Collins. I want to save the world from pesticides while at the same time not messing too much with natural ecosystems. I want to be in the sun all the time and so I love any activity that is outdoors.

PHILOSOPHY

Energy cannot be created or destroyed, so be careful how you send yours out to the world. Also, I'm a big fan of "what you fear the most will meet you half way", "nothing changes if nothing changes", and of course, "it is what it is". Be proactive!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host when I can, surf when I can, and I was very active with the awesome group in Montpellier!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted:

Hosted:

Anja and Alen (Slovenia) 1 night April 2013Brigitta and Garbor (Hungary) 1 night November 2012Nolan and MichaelZheng (USA) 2 nights December 2011Semyon (Russia) 2 nights January 2011 Viola (China) 8 nights October 2010 Laura (England) 4 nights September 2010 Ezra (Israel) 4 nights July 2010 Steffi and Juliane (Germany) 3 nights July 2010Irini (Italy) 3 nights July 2010Ricardo and Tiago (Portugal) 2 nights July 2010Philippe (Germany) 4 nights July 2010Marie (France) 2 nights June 2010Phillip (New Zealand) 1 night June 2010Justin (Canada) 6 nights June 2010Moni and Zoli (Hungary) 2 nights June 2010Hari (England) 1 night May 2010Udi (Israel) 1 night May 2010Bruno (France) 1 night May 2010Olga, Julia, and Sasha (Russia and Slovenia) 1 night May 2010Jamie (USA) 1 night November 2009Tyler (USA) 1 night October 2009Andrei (USA) 11 nights August 2009Adina (Romania) 2 nights August 2009Mateusz and Marcin (Poland) 1 night August 2009Matteo + 2 (Italy) 1 night August 2009Oksana (Czech republic) 1 night August 2009Nick and Katie (USA) 2 nights July 2009Odisseas, Anastasia, Karaline, and Xloh (Greece) 3 nights July 2009Surfed:Ted (Paris, France) 1 night January 2011Gabi (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) 1 night September 2010Rogério (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) 5 nights September 2010Alberto (Salvador, Brazil) 3 nights August 2010Telma (Salvador, Brazil) 1 night August 2010Adrian (Bilbao, Basque country, Spain) 3 nights July 2010Irune and Jaione (Getaria, Basque country, Spain) 3 nights July 2010Ricardo (Toulouse, France) 2 nights July 2010Daniel (Bruxelles, Belgium) 1 night April 2010Sarah and Chris (London, England) 2 nights February 2010Janna (Helsinki, Finland) 3 nights October 2009Heydi (Helsinki, Finland) 3 nights October 2009Aina (Brussels, Belgium) 3 nights September 2009Lai Ting (Ghent, Belgium) 1 night September 2009

Interests

A clear moonless star filled sky is pretty much my favorite thing in this world. But, I also love to camp, hike, ride my bike, meet new people and continue to learn. If I had my way, we'd all live in self-sustaining communes.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Pan's Labyrinth, Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Fight Club, The Pianist, anything Tarantino, No Country for Old Men, The Green Mile, Donnie Darko, anything Tim Burton, Into the Wild...plus dumb comedies have their place and time :-)

Music: Everything from the Grateful Dead to Wu-Tang Clan and back. I love music. Very big Pearl Jam fan.

Books: Currently on book 3 of George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Sat on the edge of a 600 meter cliff in Islands of the Sky, Utah. From there you can see all the way down to below sea-level to the Colorado river, all the way up to the 4300 meter high snow-capped peaks. Can you imagine seeing so much time all at once?

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a lot about spider-mites and problems with pesticides in industrial agriculture. I would really like to learn more French so I'm up for language exchange. I can share my home and my time!

Countries I've Visited

Brazil, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Finland, Germany, Italy, Laos, Mexico, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium, France, Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellyn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile