els Rijke's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see els’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, Khmer, Spanish
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • freelance in gender & development
  • cultural anthropology and development studies
  • From Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After 5+ years in Kenya, and 1,5 in Phnom Penh, I am now semi-nomadic and have no house or couch. I work as a freelancer. I'm an easy going, open minded, positive and active person. Like to do sports, be in nature, beaches, but I also just need to live in a city. Vegan and like to cook (and eat). In general I like to live healthy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Its a great way to meet people and I love the concept of opening your house and sharing food and stories with strangers

Interests

  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • clubbing
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • freelancing
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Murakami, I. Allende, J. Franzen, D. Eggers, Bukowski, T. Robbins.... , Movies: David Lynch, Into the wild, Only lovers left alive, Lars von Trier
Music: Pixies, Fela Kuti, Nina Simone, Bob Dylan, The Smiths
Food: vegan, healthy, spicy, creative and fusion

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to hang out with people and show visitors my place and take them on my random activities.
I know very little about tourist attractions and cannot give any advice on that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Côte d'Ivoire, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Peru, Portugal, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Viet Nam, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cambodia, Kenya, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see els’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups