Erin Griffiths's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • artist, english teacher, event organiser plus many more
  • BCA Creative Arts (visual arts), Wollongong University
  • From Orange, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

After volunteering throughout South America in 2014/15 I am now back in Australia and keen to see some of my own country before heading back overseas again. During this time I have seen and experienced just how much becomes possible with a positive attitude and a generous spirit with giving ones time and skills to help others. This time, Id like to do a mix of volunteering, camping and couchsurfing as a way of extending my travel time and meeting new people along the way.

In life, I reject the social norm that one should get educated, get a job, buy a house and pay the mortgage etc. To quote Alexander Supertramp, "I think careers are a 20th century invention and I don't want one." My end goal is to one day live completely self sustainably, so while Im still on the move Im really interested in learning as much about sustainable eating, gardening, building etc as I can. From what I know so far, sustainable living is only really possible in a fixed location (I'm still experimenting with ideas that challenge that, and am keen to hear about any!) so until such time as I'm ready to settle I plan to travel around, living off the sales of my jewellery, getting to know as many places as possible, meeting many people along the way, and learning as much as I can about self sustainable living and natural therapies.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I dont yet, but keen to start and Ill keep you posted.


crystal healing
sustainable living
natural therapies
(I dont really know much about the last two things but Im keen to learn all I can)

  • arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • tourism
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite Movies - "The Motorcycle Diaries", "The Science of Sleep" and "Into the Wild"

Favourite Book - "The Alchemist" by Paulo Cohelo

Favourite Music - Bloc Party, Portugal the Man, Yeasayer, Pond, Flaming Lips, Devendra Banhart, The Vasco Era...there are lots

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Four day Macchu Pichu hike without guide, with food poisoning. The end result was every bit worth it!

Teach, Learn, Share

If youve got any art projects on the go, or are keen to learn some new skills, Im an artist and jewellery maker and would happily help out with any projects or give you a lesson or 2 in macrame jewellery making. I also know a bit about dying material using natural dyes.

Happy to cook you up a meal or two and contribute in any way to household chores.

In return Id be interested in hearing others ideas and learning about whatever it is that they are passionate about. I am particularly interested in learning about eco sustainability and sustainable ways of living on this trip. Id also love the opportunity to practice and improve my Spanish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, England, Italy, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Chile, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin’s full profile. It’s free!