Emma Ashcroft's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emma’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 28, Other
  • Member since 2014
  • Back home I was in project management for an Environmenta...
  • University of Liverpool (BSc and MSc in Biological Sciences)
  • From Chorley, UK
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I am currently travelling with my partner of 5 years, Joe. We are both from the UK (aged 23 and 25) and 4 months ago we decided to quit our secure 9-5 jobs in environmental project management and corporate banking to travel the world!

We have spent the last four months in South East Asia, visiting Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. We have had some incredible experiences and met some amazing people. We are now in New Zealand and will be doing a working holiday here to help us save for some more travelling.

We learnt about couchsurfing through a friend we met whilst travelling and decided it was something we'd love to get involved with. We prefer unique and authentic cultural experiences to tourist-trap tours anyday!! We also expect to be settling somewhere for work soon so hope to be in a position to host.

As a couple, we are very easygoing and sociable. We've travelled with lots of solo travellers in recent months and they've often commented on how easy it is to get along with us.

PHILOSOPHY

The more you practice the luckier you get!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We are newbies! No experiences to speak of so far but we'll get back to you! We've spoke to friends and read a lot about how it works so I think we have a good idea. Neither of us are the kind of people to take someone for a ride 😊

Interests

For me (Emma): Reading, actually TALKING with people!, family, friends, singing, sustainability, hiking, warm weather ☐
Joe: Music, outdoor activities - especially snorkelling, politics, festivals (Emma and I met at one)

  • singing
  • festivals
  • wine
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • solo travel
  • tours
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I love dystopian/utopian novels, favourite is 1984.
Musicwise we both like drum & bass/electronic and acoustic.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A highlight for us was trekking in Sapa, north Vietnam. We trekked with local H'mong ethnic minority people through the mountains which were covered in rice paddies carved into very steep terraces. We had to tip toe across them and I fell in one of them and got my arm covered in buffalo dung! Nice. Our guides then took us to stay at their homes and eat a feast together. We also drank some rice wine, which they called "happy water" - this may be why I have such fond memories haha.

Join Couchsurfing to see Emma’s full profile. It’s free!