Logo orange

Ming Ni

Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

Maybe Accepting Guests

85% response rate · Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ming's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 93 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, German; learning Japanese, Portuguese
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • I too ask myself about this one ever...
  • Electrical and Control Engineering B.A.
  • From Neverland
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I'm old fashioned and prefer old fashioned requests. For newbies, here are some guidlines: http://couchwiki.org/en/How_to_write_a_couch_request

CURRENT MISSION

Problem here: the list of coutries I've already traveled in is getting longer, but they don't dissapear from the list of countries I would like to travel.

ABOUT ME

I am:

NOT a world citizen

Nor Chinese

An environment person

Trilingual

Straight but gay friendly

A good walker

I like:

Riding the bicycle

Nerd stuff

Surprises

Sun in Hamburg

Christmas markets and it's Glühwein

Collecting coupons, bonus points and miles

Coming out from the shower

Watching baseball

My GPS on my phone

Public transportation

Don't like:

Broken beer bottles

Getting sunburn

Misspelling (though I do a lot, hard life for a spelling nazi)

Getting lost (It's not some adventure anymore if you've been doing it for your whole life)

Heights

Styrofoam

Carsick

Energy wasters

being described as exotic

Those drunk people outside my window while I'm writing this

Special skills:

Solving Sudoku puzzles

Getting lost

Recognizing a movie from a short glance of a scene

Sleeping on planes

What I might do to you:

Ask you to do my dishes

Ask you not to do my dishes

Ask personal questions

Throw my personal life on you

Forget to remind you to buy a metro ticket when we go out, because I always have a semester ticket.

Don't be scared by my couch description, I'm actually quite nice :)

PHILOSOPHY

To host, or not to host, that is the question.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surf, host, hang out.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Things my surfers forgot at my place:
Shower cream *1
Facial cream *1
Towel *1
Toothpaste *1
Pair of shoes *1
Soap *3
Travel guide for south India *1
Toothbrush *1
Loaf of bread *1

Interests

Most types of music, movies, food, literature, traveling, soap making, baseball, Fachwerkhäuser, art, people, nature, photos, singing, dancing, learning, experiencing, salsa...

Music, Movies & Books

I can play traditional Chinese music: erhu. I like music that can be sung out or be danced to. Classicals, latino, rock, jazz, pop, Asian indie, cheesy folks songs....etc.I've seen Nuovo cinema Paradiso at least 5 times. I like Alfred Hitchcok, early Zhang Yi-Mo movies before he went international, old films, Hollywood, Bollywood and others. Would like to see a Nollywood film given a chance.It's not the book type that limits my reading list, it's my time. Lawrence Block, Isaac Asimov, Jane Austin, Oliver Sacks, Carl Sagan, Stephan Zweig

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The people on my couch and the couches I surfed were all amazing.

Seeing hashish growing everywhere like a normal weed in Manali.

Having tons of Indian tourists lining up to have a picture with me.

Running around barefoot for 2 whole days.

The two-day-26-hour-bus from Manali to Leh in the indian Himalayas, it was painful trip, but the scenery worths all of it.

Seeing a sand mandala being destroyed.

Food in Hong Kong, Beijing, Italy, and vegetarian in India.

Despite the fear of heights, still walked 4 hours alone to go paragliding, and the final pony ride up the hills was actually more dangerous than the flight itself.

Moved a lot- Had 15 different adresses which I could actualy recieve mail, not including temporary accomodations for just a month. Only 5 of them involve my parents. Hosted in 4 different cities.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can do a bit of lots of things, but frankly I'm not sure what I can teach. I can play "erhu", a chinese string instrument, if you would like to learn that :)

I want to learn your cuisine, language, new tips to save the planet and save money.

I can cook, sing, dance with you.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, India, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Slovakia, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Germany, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ming's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile