Ekaterina Dmitrieva's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ekaterina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Russian
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Grad student... perpetually writing papers and thinking o...
  • Went to university for Music Theory and wound up with a d...
  • From Charlotte, NC
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To fly from the US around the world from east to west crossing the international timeline.

ABOUT ME

Playing flute is what defines me most.. I started at 7, though the piano is my favorite instrument. I use to compete in ice skating, graduated high school 2 years early, got my own job and put myself through college. I'm the youngest in my family and have a niece and 2 nephews. My mother is Cherokee and want to learn more about that side of the family. When in the states I reside in DC for school, but hope to move again.. maybe to Boston. I'm still considering going for my Ph.D but ask me how I feel about writing in a year! I love animals and was a vegetarian for 10 years, which I plan on going back to. Interested in meditation, acupuncture, and the effects of positive thinking on the mind. I also converted to Judaism a few years ago.

PHILOSOPHY

Where you come from is gone, where you thought you were going to never was there, and where you are is no good unless you can get away from it. In yourself right now is all the place you've got. - Flannery O'Connor

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am currently in route to fly around the world and will do so before I'm 30! Once I'm back in the states and am no longer nomadic, anyone wanting a place to crash is welcome.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hope to have some soon.

Interests

Music, Israeli dancing, walking in the rain, reading books, playing the flute, Cherokee culture, and cooking, and though I love it I'm horrible at preparing tofu.

  • animals
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • folklore
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • meditation
  • walking
  • flying
  • boating
  • reading
  • music
  • piano

Music, Movies, and Books

"Living in a Foreign Language" "Eat, Pray, Love" and "Letters to a Young Poet" are three great books that come to mind.

Music - almost everything, but I love Ben Folds... gotta represent NC, and we were taught by some of the same music teachers. This is my favorite classical song.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjRky-ACSJg

Movies... I'm actually getting to the point where I can sit and enjoy them without having to multi-task at the same time. Comedies are my fav.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Went via small boat to Shaman Rock in the middle of Lake Baikal, the largest fresh water lake in the world, and made a coin offering, a Buryat tradition.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Finland, Germany, Lithuania, Russian Federation, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ekaterina’s full profile. It’s free!