Accepting Guests

  • 98% response rate
  • Last login 7 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ethan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 366 References 228 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (Morocco), Chinese, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Overseas High School Math and Statistics Teacher
  • Masters of Science in Math Education from North Carolina ...
  • From Asheville, NC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

You can check out my wife's profile here:

IMPORTANT: We view CS as a cultural exchange and not just a free place to stay. If you would like to stay with us please include the following in your request: 1) Why we would enjoy each other's company 2) An acknowledgement that you know where Nansha district (广州市南沙区) is and you are looking forward to staying with us in Nansha. Unfortunately we receive far too many requests of uninformed CSers that only want free accommodation close to the center which we cannot provide. Copy and paste requests that don't seek to address these two simple criteria will be automatically declined with a copy and paste of this paragraph.

Nansha District is 90 minutes from the center of Guangzhou (about 150min from the GZ airport), 60-80 minutes (by coach from Shenzhen), and a 90 minute ferry from (Hong Kong). I'm a great stop if you're transiting between any of these 3 places (please see map under "Photos of My Home").

For a much better version (pre-massive CS overhaul) of my CS profile, see here:


To Explore, Learn, and Serve


Last year I was featured in the Shenzhen Daily talking about my CS experience. Check out the article here:

I'm teaching math at an international school in the Nansha District of Guangzhou since 2013.

In 2011, I moved back to Raleigh, North Carolina (USA) after 3 years teaching math at an American school in Fez, Morocco (2008-2011).

I have an affinity for maps--maybe you could bring a free map from your country, city, state, or transit system!


To explore, learn, and ultimately to serve.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'M NOT ON COUCHSURFING TO respond to requests from people that don't bother to notice where we live, mention why we'd enjoy each others company, or only want a free version of Airbnb.


On 25 occasions now I've visited surfers that I hosted first in Fez, Morocco, Raleigh, North Carolina or Guangzhou, China! It's amazing to be both host and guest, deepen friendships, meet families, and experience the other persons' home culture and cuisine!

I've enjoyed hosting surfers Fez, Morocco and Raleigh, North Carolina (USA) and now I'm trying to keep it up in here in Guangzhou!

Possibly we could cook a meal together from your country or region. We would love to learn about your part of the world and how you live life.


I've hosted guests from:

Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, United States, Canada, Spain, Sweden, France, Italy, Argentina, Germany, Belgium, Finland, Turkey, England, Brazil, Indonesia, The Netherlands, Morocco, Switzerland, Slovenia, Mexico, Denmark, Chile, Tunisia, Lithuania, South Korea, Northern Ireland, Hungary, Greece, Israel, Russia, Montenegro, Nepal, Columbia, Serbia, Croatia, Estonia, Belarus, Slovakia, New Zealand, Uzbekistan, China, Peru, Ireland, Puerto Rico, and Iran.

I've couchsurfed in:

Morocco: Marrakech (twice); Ouaouizarht, Tighassiline* Casablanca*, Tarodant, Rabat, Tangier, Fez, Salé

Portugal: Lisbon |
France: Annemasse, Perpignan, Paris |
Spain: Capliliera, Madrid* (thrice), Barcelona* |
Romania: Bucharest |
Belgium: Leuven* |
Italy: Padova, Mezzago*, Bologna* (twice), Florence, Rome |
Slovenia: Lyubljana*, Maribor* |
Germany: Berlin* (twice), Mainz*, Münster*, Essen, Munich |
The Netherlands: Nijmegen |
Hungary: Budapest |
Austria: Vienna, Außervillgraten*, Salzburg |
Czech Republic: Prague |
Poland: Warsaw* |
Serbia: Belgrade, Niš |
Croatia: Dubrovnik |
Montenegro: Heceg Novi* |
Greece: Thessaloniki |
Iceland: Reykjavik |
Wales: Cardiff |
England: London |

Turkey: Istanbul, Konya, Diyarbakir*, Edirne* |
Chongqing: Chongqing
Guangdong: Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai |
Guanxi: Nanning, Yulin |
Shanghai: Shanghai |
Hainan: Haikou |
Xinjiang: Urumqi* |
Heilongjiang: Heihe, Harbin |
Qinghai: Xining |
Indonesia: Jakarta, Yogyakarta |
Hong Kong: Sheung Wan, Tai Wai, Kowloon Bay, Kennedy Town, Tsuen Wan, North Point |
Macau: Macau Peninsula, Coloane Village
Vietnam: Hanoi |
Thailand: Bangkok (twice) |
Malaysia: Kuala Lumpur |
Singapore: Mountbatten |
Myanmar: Yangon |
Korea: Seoul |

North America
Ontario: Toronto |
Québec: Montréal |
British Colombia: Vancouver, Sun Peaks, Revelstoke |
United States:
Rhode Island: Providence |
North Carolina: Raleigh |
District of Columbia: Washington (thrice) |
Texas: Austin* |
Pennsylvania: Philadelphia, Pittsburg |
Missouri: St Louis |
Colorado: Denver, Leadville, Niwot |
Oregon: Madras*, Portland |
South Dakota: Rapid City |
Illinois: Chicago (twice) |
South Carolina: Charleston |
California: San José*, San Francisco |

South America
Perú: Lima, Iquitos, Cusco |
Colombia: Leticia, Bogota, Medellin, Pasto |
Ecuador: Quito, Cuenca |

New South Wales: Sydney, Bega |
Victoria: Bairnesdale, Melbourne, Nullawarre, Panmure |
Australia Capital Territory (ACT): Canberra |

*CSers with whom I've both hosted and surfed with! :)


Hosting CS guests, walkable and well planned cities, exploring, transit system design, greenways, history, politics, hospitality, backpacking, reading, hiking, biking, maps, microbreweries, everything pumpkin (cheesecake, pie, ale, couscous, cake), road trips, traveling

  • culture
  • design
  • education
  • cooking
  • wine
  • cheese
  • marathon
  • coach
  • boating
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • bungee jumping
  • cartography
  • teaching
  • geography
  • history
  • mathematics
  • hitchhiking
  • road trips
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Bands I'm Listening to These Days (in no particular order):
Kopecky, Tiny Ruins, The Lumineers, The Avett Brothers, Mumford & Sons, Fleet Foxes, The Decemberists, James Vincent McMorrow, The Civil Wars, Sufjan Stevens, Dispatch, Carbon Leaf, Nickel Creek, Derek Webb, Damien Rice, Old School Freight Train, Sara Watkins, South Austin Jug Band, Chris Thile, The Punch Brothers, Carolina Chocolate Drops, Chatham County Line, Sarah Jarosz, Darrell Scott, Band of Horses, Abigail Washburn, Death Cab for Cutie, Ben Harper

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

(Click on my legacy profile to see pictures to go with each of these captions.)

--Bungee Jumped for my Birthday at Baiyun Mountain in Guangzhou

--Hiked Up to Machu Picchu (entirely by local transport and hiking, not the train)

--Met Barack and Michelle Obama

--Grew up in on the side of mountain in Asheville, NC

--Lived with my real parents for 8 years, then in a foster home for 2 years, then with foster/adoptive parents for 8 years

--Swam with manatees in Florida

--Hiked fourteen 14ers (mountains over 14,000 feet--4,267m) in the Colorado Rockies

--Drove across the United States from Raleigh to San Francisco (7,000 miles--11,300km in 11 days)

--Spent 2 days hiking in a cave in Eastern Tennessee

--Been to both North and South Rims of the Grand Canyon

--Spent 2 weeks as crew of a Bahamian schooner in the Bahamas when I was 16

--Climbed through Bishop's Castle in Colorado (one man has worked on this by himself, and by hand, since 1969 and he's still working...)

--I was born at home (not in a hospital)

--Learned my way through the labyrinth medina in Fes, Morocco

--Trekked for 2 weeks in the Sierra Nevadas in California

--Climbed the Rock of Gibraltar

--Ferried across the Strait of Gibraltar from Africa to Europe

--Hiked Jbel Toubkal (4067m--13,671ft): highest mountain in North Africa

--Ferried from Asia to Europe on the Bosphorus in Istanbul

--Milked a cow in Moldova (Back in the former USSR!)

--Hitchhiked across Morocco, Moldova, Germany, Austria, Italy, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Iceland, and Laos

--Rode a camel into the Sahara (twice)

--Hitchhiked around southeastern Morocco to Figuig and rode in the back of a truck with a sheep!

--Logged about 7,000 miles in 30 days on Greyhound buses in the US and Canada between North Carolina, Michigan, Quebec, New York, and Texas in summer 2010

--Hitchhiked around the south of Morocco from Merzouga, to Taroudant, to Agadir, to Sidi Ifni, to Gulmim, to Tiznit, to Essouaria, to Marrakesh, to Fes...more than 2,400km in 10 days!

--Ran the 2011 Marrakech half-marathon!

--Hitchhiked through the Northeastern part of Morocco and through the Rif Mountains: Fés, Taza, Guircif, Taourirt, Oujda, Saida, Nador, Al Hoceima, Targuist, Ketama, Fés

--Climbed the Eiffel Tower (and enjoyed some wine/cheese)

--I've attended weddings in the US, Turkey, Morocco and China.

--Walked across the borders from Macedonia (FYROM) to Greece, Greece to Turkey, Turkey to Bulgaria, Bulgaria to Serbia, Peru to Colombia (by little Amazon boat), Colombia to Brazil, Peru to Ecuador, Ecuador to Peru, China to Vietnam, and China to Hong Kong.

--Hitchhiked both the Snæfellsnes Peninsula and the Golden Circle in Iceland!

Teach, Learn, Share

Some other areas that I have some knowledge (feel free to ask about them!): The Pearl River Delta (including Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Hong Kong, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Zhuhai, and Macao), Teaching (I've taught high school math for 7 years); Math (I have both a bachelor's and master's degrees in math education); Living abroad (I lived in Fez, Morocco for 3 years and Guangzhou, China for 3 years); Asheville, NC (my hometown); Raleigh, NC (and the Research Triangle region: Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill--lived there 2002-2006 and 2011-2013); NC State University (my alma mater and for undergrad and grad school); the mountains of Western North Carolina; Colorado's 14ers (I've climbed 14 of them); hiking Jbel Toubkal (highest mountain in North Africa); driving across the US (I've done 3 cross country road trips); Morocco (especially how to get around, cultural norms, and what you should see in a short stay); cheap flights (AirAsia, Scoot, Tiger Air, RyanAir, EasyJet, WizzAir, and lately booking via Google Flights); the Fes medina (after 10 months of exploring all the dead ends streets I finally got a handle on navigating the largest car-free urban area in the world); US/Canadian/Moroccan/European/Chinese/Southeast Asian geography; HH in Morocco; Washington, DC (I lived there for 2 summers), Moroccan Airports (I've flown to or from Fes, Casablanca, Marrakesh, Tangier, and Nador), Moroccan buses, traveling in the Balkans (by HH, bus, guest houses, and CS), traveling in China (by bus, train, plane, or HH), traveling in Southeast Asia, hiking and/or camping in Hong Kong

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of stories of traveling Morocco, Europe, the US and Canada, South America, and Asia!

I can make a Moroccan Tagine, a carrot cake, a pumpkin cake (or pie), or a homemade macaroni and cheese assuming access to the right ingredients.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Morocco, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    91 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ethan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups