Logo orange

Evan Ryer

Brooklyn, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Evan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Artist
  • University
  • From Philadelphia - New York at this point...
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get mo' cultural experiences

ABOUT ME

I'm an artist, painting and making collages and taking photos. I work full time an an artist's foundation here in New York which I love and allows me to have a 'real' job and still make my own work. I'm loyal friend and enjoy many cross-cultural friendships and find them to always be rewarding. Always seeking out chances to travel and meet new people. Next trip is going to be Denmark (again).

PHILOSOPHY

The older I get the less I care about what people think about me. That said, I've become more and more caring, loving and sentimental. I cry during good films and I don't give a damn if you notice it.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have two roommates and while I can't always host I am always happy to meet up with people and show them around or invite you for dinner.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had a great weekend in Lund, Sweden with Marie Eklund. Awesome host and cute town. Adam Little and our good friend Alexx and I stayed with her for a night a while back and crashed at hers. She's great.

Interests

Art, music (particularly world music these days), food (i love to cook), wine, meeting people from all over the world.

Music, Movies & Books

Last great book I read was Bulgakov's Hear of a Dog.
Music is always playing here - Jorge Ben from Brazil right now.
Last great movie I saw was "Man on Wire" about Phillip Petit.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Late night walks in Rome, taking in the imperial vibe, headphones, running into homeless people and chatting along the river, crack a beer, the castle santangelo, down to the pantheon, trevi fountain at night all lit up like a cake, cobble stones, nooks in trastevere, lost somewhere down by the market...

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a great tour guide of New York and can suggest plenty of things to do two hours away in Philadelphia. My dog lives with my parents but he (and they) visit fairly often. I can show you all around art galleries in Manhattan and Brooklyn, there are plenty of openings we can peruse and drink free wine. I might have a bike you can borrow and I love to cook. So there's that.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Evan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile