Logo orange

Anne Leminen

Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

Maybe Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 30 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning Japanese, Russian, Swedish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • No education listed
  • From Vantaa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

** We are quite busy on weekdays, so we prefer to host on weekends (which means: from friday to sunday), as then we have more time to spend with surfer(s)! Please also note that WE HAVE A DOG and a hamster, so if you are allergic to dogs/animals or don't like animals - we might not be able to host you :( Also we are not very good with last minute request, so it's best to ask couple of weeks in advance!**

Please send a proper couch request - not only a message - when requesting stay! New to CS? Read these!

http://www.angloitalianfollowus.com/why-couchsurfing-is-free-is-a-myth/ http://charlieontravel.com/how-to-get-couchsurfing-host/

--

Hello everyone! We are a married, tattooed, heavy metal couple from Vantaa (it's next to Helsinki), Finland. \m/

I study tourism and work at the check-in of a cruise company (this is actually just one of my many part-time jobs, life of a student..), Markus drives a delivery truck. When not working or studying, we are probably planning and dreaming of future travels. We have a travel blog called Metallia Matkassa (translates something like "metal travels" - www.metalliamatkassa.com, in Finnish), also like making videos and photography. Markus loves swimming and is now competing again after over 10 year pause. Last year we went all the way to Montreal for FINA World Masters. This years the competition is held in Kazan, Russia.

Animals are close to our hearts. We have two pets, a griffon bruxellois dog called Luumu and a little djungarian hamster (russian dwarf hamster) named Lucifer.

Through my studies I have grown very interested in developing the tourism in Finland. I think we have a great country with lots to see that just needs a little bit more visitors! I am more than happy to show places in my home town and Helsinki to our guests!

At the moment life is quite busy with work and school for us, so usually on weekdays we like to spend the evenings at home - cooking, watching tv and go walks with Luumu. On free days we like to go to small adventures to nearby places and cities, meet friends, party, have a BBQ on our balcony.. In summer we love visiting festivals - especially the ones with metal bands playing \m/ We also visit the countryside every now and then, year around, and recently have started to like outdoor activities such as hiking. We have some great national parks here in Finland to visit!

You can find us from Instagram too:

@ewoklife (Anne) @ms667 (Markus)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have hosted and surfed few times so far.

Interests

Travelling, tattoos, metal music, photographing, diving, swimming, animals, blogging

Music, Movies & Books

Music - Metal it is. \m/ Markus prefers it black, I'm more of a death/thrash kind a girl.

Movies - Star Wars, Zombie movies, Quentin Tarantino movies, Tim Burton movies, Pixar animations, Epic adventure movies such as LOTR, Hobbit.. Horror movies (Markus says I shouldn't be watching those, as I always get nightmares)

TV series - Game of Thrones, Bates Motel, American Horror Story, True Blood, The Walking Dead.. you know what kids watch these days. A little older stuff: Twin Peaks, X-Files and my (note: not Markus') all time favorite: Beverly Hills 90210!

Books - Hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy, Lonely Planets and other travelling guides, Stephen King books, old Finnish classics (The Egyptian, The Unknown Soldier etc.)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Markus: Seeing a whale shark while diving - a childhood dream coming true

Anne: Tandem skydiving few years back, paragliding over Pokhara in Nepal in spring 2012, visiting Petra UNESCO World Heritage Site in Jordan 2014

Teach, Learn, Share

We can teach you about Finnish culture and language. I can also teach you Japanese - I used to live in Japan about 10 years ago, one year as an exchange student. Markus is very good in swimming so he can give some tips in swimming techniques (I always ask for them too and then get frustrated when I don't succeed). He also knows a lot about diving stuff.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Nepal, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Finland, Japan, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Anne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile