Federico Casale's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Federico’s full profile.


  • 27 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Italian; learning English, French, German, Norwegian Bokmål
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Student (Mechanical Engineering), occasionally working as...
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


figuring out which is the most current among all my missions :)


Hi! I'm Federico... I'm openminded, easygoing, spontaneous and... sorry, i can't find any other standard and overused adjective :) Seriously, I don't like to describe myself from scratch, nor i'm sure that this kind of description makes too much sense. Just read the other fields and my references... and let's meet ;)

my life in a nutshell: I was born in Rome, I live in Lucca since about 10 years, I study in Pisa where i tend to spend most of my time and i will live somewhere else.

I'm also member of Hospitality Club: http://secure.hospitalityclub.org/hc/travel.php?cid=fedcas and BeWelcome: http://www.bewelcome.org/members/fedcas


"Paying for sleeping is like paying for sex. Just without passion, completely emotionless" - me after a 2 months trip only being hosted by people and wildcamping

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm quite active in the CS Pisa Group... it's a nice group, not that big but active and friendly, knock up on the forum if you're around ;)I like to organize meetings every now and then, especially mountain hikes and other outdoor activities.


not experienced yet, but i'm working on becoming a real couchsurfer:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJQggzL8VaI


hiking/mountaineering/caving/mountainbiking, cycling, photography, cars, mechanics, computer/ICT, science and technology, running, beers (belgians above all), cactuses, cooking (mostly cakes and desserts... i have a sweet tooth :p), eating... travelling?? I hate it :p

I'm also really curious about cultures and languages, so get ready beacuse I'll probably ask you many questions :p Well, I'm not that much into languages as you can see from the languages I speak (I'll probably start studying german, anyway) but I like doing things such as comparing similar words in different languages, I'm curious about etymology etc...
UPDATE: right now, i'm attending a course in Historical linguistics at my uni :) (well, not really MY uni, cause i'm studying engineering :p)

  • photography
  • cooking
  • beer
  • desserts
  • running
  • clubbing
  • technology
  • traveling
  • cars
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • spelunking
  • mountaineering
  • engineering
  • etymology
  • languages
  • science
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC:I love music. I think it's such a beautiful and powerful thing. And i believe the music you like says a lot about you.
I used to like rock above all (hard rock, prog rock... that's what i started with) but now i listen to several different genres depending on my mood and even more on the period.A few names. The blue ones are italian: I like to know something about the music of the places where i'm travelling, so i've put a youtube link to my favourite song for every italian artist in the list... just to let you know that italian music is not just Laura Pausini or Eros Ramazzotti ;)Ani DiFranco, Baustelle, Black Sabbath, Bob Dylan, Camille, Cat Power, CCCP, CSI, Dark Dark Dark, David Bowie, Deep Purple, Depeche Mode, Dire Straits, Dota die Kleingeldprinzessin und die Stadtpiraten, Dream Theater, esterina, Fabrizio De Andrè, Florence and the Machine, Guns n' Roses, I matti delle giuncaie, Jenny Hval, Jethro Tull, Joni Mitchell, King Crimson, Led Zeppelin, Lou Reed, Low, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Marta sui Tubi, Massive Attack, Metallica, Mogwai, P.F.M., Pantera, Pat Metheny, Pearl Jam, Pink Floyd, Pomplamoose, Queen, Rino Gaetano, Scorpions, Sigur Rós, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Susanne Sundfør, The Chemical Brothers, The Knife, The Prodigy, The Velvet Underground, Tori Amos, U2, Yann Tiersen, Zaz, ZZ Top...MOVIES:Again, the ones with the link are italian:Amici Miei, Back to the Future, Fahrenheit 451, Fandango, Good Bye Lenin, Into the Wild, Modern Times, Profondo rosso, Psycho, The Shining, Pulp Fiction, Sin City, V for Vendetta...BOOKS:1984, The Call of the Wild... work in progress :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

...the sound of silence, hitchhiking from my town in italy to far above the arctic circle, being inside a car or a tent while it's raining outside, waking up next to the woman i love, sleeping in random places, hitchhiking a host, making that host sign up for CS the day after, smiles, the northern lights, talking to random people and discover that they are also csers, warm and colorful winter sunsets...

(and you can find the realtime updated list of my upcoming destinations here :p http://www.pintprice.com/top10affordable.php)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm learning german, so if you're german and want to learn italian we could practice together ;)
UPDATE: I'd like to learn norwegian too

but I'm in also for other kinds of tandem... cooking tandem! i can show you how to make Tiramisù or cook Spaghetti alla carbonara or... try asking :p and you'll show me your favorite local dish

or music tandem! I love music, we can listen to some music from your country and to some italian one...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Federico’s full profile.

My Groups