Felice Shannon's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Felice’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in French, German, Norwegian, Russian
  • 54, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Flight Attendant
  • B.A. German, French, Russian
  • From Clearfield, PA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello from Portland, Oregon! I am brand new to couch surfing! I started my profile in 2015 but was too busy work wise then to finish and use the site. I am a 53 year old woman and work as a flight attendant for Horizon Air. I was born and raised in central Pennsylvania and lived there for 43 years. I’m married and we have a 15 year old daughter and two cats. We LOVE animals and feel comfortable with any pets you may have, dogs, cats, birds, you name it. (I’ve always regretted not becoming a vet.)
We have wanted to try couch surfing for several years now ( I even had started a profile in 2015) but haven’t up until now because ...
1. I’m a little afraid to... 😬
2. My crazy work schedule left little time for travel
3. We can’t reciprocate and host yet because my 92 yr old father moved in with us and we currently have no spare room and we only have one bathroom for the four of us. In the future, though, as we renovate our attic and add another bathroom, THEN we WILL ABSOLUTELY host! 🎉😃
My 15 yr old daughter and I are going to warily take our first couch surfing baby steps in June, 2018. I am verifying myself since we are brand new to Couchsurfing. Please don’t be afraid to host us because we’re new! We don’t smoke, drink, or do any drugs. We , also, are VERY respectful of other people’s property and belongings and, I promise you, that we will leave whatever area you’re willing to give us access to, EXACTLY as we found it! We also love antiques and will be extremely careful with any valuables or breakables in your home. We do not expect nor need you to cook for us or feed us! We are low maintenance, do not want to make any work for you and would be grateful for just a spot on the floor to lay down a couple of sleeping bags. We now live in Portland, Oregon but we are originally from central Pennsylvania and I will be dropping our daughter off at an awesome summer camp where I used to work. Before that, though, we are hoping to couch surf in Ocean City, MD for 3 nights, June 19, 20 and 21, 2018., before I take her to camp. We also will need to spend 1 night somewhere between OC, MD and State College, PA area, hopefully around New Oxford, Hanover or Gettysburg, PA so I can visit my brother in New Oxford.
We absolutely LOVE Ocean City, MD and usually stay in a bed and breakfast, hotel or motel there, near the boardwalk, every summer. This year, since we had to renovate our bathroom to meet ADA standards for my elderly Dad, our usual “fun / vacation money” is now going into monthly $460.00 payments for the next year. Having always wanted to try Couchsurfing since I first heard of it, this is just the excuse needed to finally complete my profile and try it! 😃

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I’m very much a people person and absolutely love meeting other people from different states, countries, and cultures. When I was a child, my father was in Rotary club and we hosted three different exchange students ( from Japan, Denmark and Sweden) for three months each. That was my introduction, at 5 years old, to hosting and meeting new people and learning about new cultures. When I was 18 years old, I lived in Stavern and Larvik, Norway as a Rotary Exchange Student, with three different, wonderful families and absolutely loved it there. I have also spent a summer with a close friend living with her family in Wiesbaden, Germany in 1988. In 1992, I spent the summer volunteering at an orphanage in Karelia, which was a life changing experience.
I have always enjoyed helping other people and I think that it would be wonderfully fun to host people and help them to see the sights around where we live, or, if they prefer traveling alone, at least point them in the right direction. We assure you that when we are able to host guests, you will be staying in a safe, quiet, tobacco, drug and alcohol free home!

Interests

  • cats
  • dogs
  • birds
  • crafts
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • painting
  • piano
  • surfing
  • flute
  • bicycling
  • cross-country skiing
  • downhill skiing

Music, Movies, and Books

We LOVE music, movies AND reading!
Some of my favorite movies:

Love Actually
Four Weddings and a Funeral
Mrs. Doubtfire
Forrest Gump
Pride and Prejudice
Waking Ned Devine
Sense and Sensibility
Crazy, Stupid Love
Sleepless in Seattle
Under the Tuscan Sun

Music

We are a very musical family! I play flute, piccolo and piano and was voted “Most Musical “ in my senior high school class. I can also play by ear. I, the eternal band nerd, have recently joined the One More Time Around Again Marching Band here in Portland and will be marching in the Starlight Parade and the Rose Parade!
My husband, Stephen, used to play bass and sing in a band and has played in clubs all over Portland. Our daughter plays the saxophone in her high school band.
I graduated high school and went to college in the 80s so
many of my favorite bands are from that era.
Kansas, Journey, R.E.M., Duran Duran...
Little Big Town and Darlingside...
Celtic music - Loreena McKennit, Enya, Clanaad
All folk music, Bluegrass... Wyndham Hill mixes...
Anything but heavy metal or freeform Jazz.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I volunteered in an orphanage in the old Soviet republic of Karelia for two months during the summer of 1992. I will never forget those kids and the friends I made while there. ❤️

Teach, Learn, Share

I’m not yet sure what I’m supposed to put in this section so I’m going to wait and ask someone with Couchsurfing experience.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I’m not sure what this category means. Will find out.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Mexico, Norway, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Norway, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Felice’s full profile. It’s free!