Fiona Kelly's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fiona’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 20, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • University of Edinburgh
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

Currently a student living in Edinburgh studying Physics and Spanish.
I did a gap year working as an au pair in France and it was by far the most amazing experience I've had.
Student budget doesn't really allow for as much travelling as I'd like but I'm doing my best.
I spend about 4-6 hours a week in dance classes for bachata, salsa and lindy hop and a lot more social dancing. As I travel I learn more about the latin and swing bars of the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've learned so much more from just talking to people from different countries than from reading books. I find it really cool how different people's lives can be just depending on where they grew up. I also think the best way to discover anywhere is with locals, the people who know the small pubs who's atmosphere is waaaay better than that of the big-named pubs and who know the other tiny details and places that gives a city it's character.

I also love to learn languages and so am up for a language exchange.

Interests

  • culture
  • books
  • bachata
  • cooking
  • pub crawls
  • reading
  • traveling
  • languages
  • physics
  • language exchange
  • au-pair
  • salsa
  • lindy hop

Music, Movies, and Books

Most music types but especially bluesy/folk such as Dave Matthew's Band, The Cat Empire, Jason Mraz.

I also really like music such as reggaeton, bachata and mariachi that slowly grew as I spent time with latin americans.

Similar with movies and books, I'm pretty easy

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was 17 I spent 5 weeks travelling through Germany (with a small detour through Poland, Slovakia and Austria) by myself. I met some of the best people and had the most incredible experience of my life. Though the main goal of improving my German wasn't hugely achieved I just loved the experience of making it up as I went along...something I have now adopted into my every day life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Language exchange is a definite goal for me, I can help with English or with beginning French but I'm still in the process of perfecting my own French... I am keen to learn most things, and have a fair bit of experience cooking.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have never been hosted with couchsurfing but when I stayed with a penpal in Germany I baked for him as it's something I love doing. I'd be happy to bake or cook for my host and maybe I could even make something traditional from Scotland...though we aren't much of a cuisining culture

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Colombia, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Fiona’s full profile. It’s free!