Fiona Lawson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fiona’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 17 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning German, Indonesian, Kinyarwanda, Spanish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • English teacher. Human rights advocacy advisor. I have al...
  • Degrees in Arts (Indonesian and Malayan Studies), Law and...
  • From Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


While travelling around the world, continue to follow my dreams, enjoy life, always be grateful, smile, laugh, dance and enjoy live music as much as possible :-)


I'm a bit of a gypsy who's very extroverted, passionate, positive, energetic, fun, free-spirited, open-minded and gregarious (although sometimes I talk too much!).


I always live my life very positively, with no regrets, and with love, gratitude, appreciation of and trust in the amazing people in my life who I can't live without and the beauty around me. I'm also very passionate about human rights and social justice issues and I try to volunteer as often as I can.

Sempre vivo minha vida de forma positiva, sem arrependimentos e com amor, gratidão e apreciação das pessoas maravilhosas na minha vida e beleza ao meu redor. Eu também sou muito apaixonada por direitos humanos e questões de justiça social e tento fazer trabalho voluntário, tanto quanto possível.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Until now I have used CouchSurfing as a guest, as a host (once in Rio), and to meet people while travelling in South America, the US and Europe, and while living in Rio de Janeiro.


I have Couchsurfed with several hosts in Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, Miami, Lisbon, Lagos, London and Arraial do Cabo. I've also been out with people from Couchsurfing in London and Lisbon and I've been to many CouchSurfing events in Rio de Janeiro, especially on the weekend of the national meeting in November 2012. I now have many wonderful friends from CouchSurfing around the world, especially in Rio.


I love all kinds of music (especially going to live gigs, dancing and playing the djembe). I also love festivals (music, film, arts, community), films and photography. The main reasons I really love travelling and living in other countries are that I love making new friends, experiencing different cultures and learning new languages. Apart from on the dance-floor, I am happiest outdoors, especially at the beach. I started learning to surf, stand-up paddle-boarding and kite-surfing in Brazil in 2012.

  • arts
  • photography
  • beauty
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • human rights
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I especially love funk, soul, samba, MPB, jazz, Afrobeat, Cuban salsa, Angolan kizomba, South African, East African, West African, hip hop, bossanova, forró, rock, blues, drum'n'bass and house music. I like dramas, 'Arthouse', foreign films and romantic comedies. I love to share and swap music and films. I don't make enough time to read, but a few of my favourite books are 100 Years of Solitude (Cien años de soledad) by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Americanah and Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, The Bad Girl (Travesuras de la niña mala) by Mario Vargas Llosa.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've had so many amazing experiences everywhere I've lived because of all the wonderful, awe-inspiring people I've become friends with and learnt so much from. I've fallen in love with pretty much everywhere I've spent any significant amount of time! Especially memorable experiences because of the people I worked and lived with were working in human rights advocacy for an NGO in the small, poor, rural town Manhiça, Mozambique for nearly a year, volunteering for a small, local NGO in Kigali, Rwanda for 5 months and interviewing young women factory workers in East Java, Indonesia for 7 months.

Teach, Learn, Share

Perhaps we can exchange language skills, dancing and music? I'd like to improve my fluency in the languages I know, learn new languages, learn more skills in kizomba, marabenta, samba (especially samba de gafieira), forró, salsa, bachata and other Latin and African dancing, more drumming and percussion skills, and become a better photographer.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Skills in languages, dance, djembe drumming, cooking, music, films, photography, stories, laughs.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Italy, Kenya, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Indonesia, Mozambique, Rwanda, Singapore, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Fiona’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups