Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see FLO80’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Wanderer of the world (and software)
  • Uni, travelling, listening, trying to not repeat mistakes
  • From Landshut, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Exploring the world and myself. Funnily that's true for over 9 years by now.

I'm "mostly harmless".
I like running but also wandering.
I love fiery discussions and new perspectives.
I'm working in computer science but need people around me.
I enjoy a good party but I need my quiet time to think and reflect.

Let's start with the words of Rage against the Machine: "What better place than here, what better time than now?"

Nothing happens without a reason. Therefore I don't believe in coincidence.
I don't believe in destiny neither.

I try to know the past
so I can understand the presents
and shape the future.

Freedom is not for free.

We rather regret the things we did not do then the things we did do.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


When I surf I try to be a good guest and respect that my hosts are opening their homes for me. Everyone who's abroad is an ambassador for their country and as a CouchSurfer one represents a part of CS.

When I host I hope to be welcoming and as of much help as I can. Everyone is different and has different interests. I intend to adjust the directions I give to that. I usually don't turn my life around for my guests since I enjoyed getting hosted without a fuzz myself.

In between I take part in forum discussions and I'm happy to meet people at all kinds of gatherings.


It was always great to visit a friend or find new ones, to have a place to sleep and to get in touch with another city.
In addition I enjoy hosting people. It's a bit like traveling without moving. I enjoy to be of help.

Couchsurfing Experience Totals
63 hosted, 44 surfed, 17 travelled with

Hosted - USA 2015:
11 days Bi (USA)

Hosted - Australia 2013:
4 days Mauricio (Venezuela), 6 days Eli & Christian (Germany), 5 days Jonathan & Rebecca (Sweden), 4 days Hyeok (South Korea), 2 days David (Czech Republic), 3 days Thibault (France)

Hosted - Australia 2009/2010/2011:
4 days Kirin, 1 day Roman, 4 days Leon McConnell, 4 days Amy Huang, 5 days Magdalena Sitarek, 4 days Eva & Mona, 6 days Des Kong, 3 days Vahid, 3 days Sree, 4 days Ula & Tim, 3 days Kat & Michael, 4 days Richard, 7 days Ricky, 7 days Barbara, 4 days Chris, 5 days Aurelie, 4 days Kirin (again), 3 days Liz, 4 days Julian, 3 days Steffen & Franka, 2 days Jennifer & Peter, 2 days Kerstin & Gordon, 2 days Maulana, 7 days Myriam, 3 days Katja, 3 days Joel & Vanessa, 3 days Iceman Eric, 7 days Theresa, 7 days Robin & Lena

Hosted - New Zealand 2008:
7 days Michael Straßburger, 5 days Noah Fox, 4 days Felix Schubert , 4 days Anna, 3 days Jake Niece, 3 days Panamike, 6 days Gonzalo, 3 days Fani, 1 day Darius, 3 days Ilse, 6 days Elaine, 4 days Andrea (all in Auckland)

Hosted - Australia 2007:
1 day MSDANNY, 1 day Bruno Boulandet, 4 days Iftach Amir, 3 days Taylor Booth, 2 days Mike Newport in Melbourne(VIC), 1 day Taylor Booth in Exmouth(WA)

Surfed 2015:
3 days with Ro (Toronto), 3 days with Loree (Abbotsford, BC), 10 days with ROBBIEK (Vancouver)

Surfed - 2014:
3 days with Francoise(New Caledonia), 5 days with Médérick et Sandra (Papeete, French Polynesia)

Surfed - USA 2011:
1 day with Catch-Up (Oahu, HI), 4 days with Hugheytoo (Oahu, HI), 2 days Alexandra (Big Island, HI), 4 days Uhane (Big Island, HI), 4 days Wes (Big Island, HI), 3 days Shaun (Big Island, HI), 4 days Lara (Hoboken, NJ)

Surfed - Australia 2009:
20 days with Alisdair & Erin (MEL), 4 days with Graeme & Geraldine (Tassie)
Surfed - New Zealand 08:
12 days with Aaron Herber and David Cranwell (AKL), 4 days with George Wilson (Great Barrier Island), 3 days Leon Wiki (Raglan), 6 days with Colin&Judith (Turangi), 3 days WILLIESGIRL (Whakatane), 4 days Ryan (Wellington), 3 days Angie&Graham (Blenheim), 1 day Shayne (Westport), 4 days Will&Phil (Cromwell), 5 days Southlander (Gore), 2 days Angie&Graham (Blenheim), 7 days Kirin (AKL)

Surfed - Hong Kong 2008:
4 days with Vincent CHU

Surfed - Spain 2008:
3 days with Juan Carlos Polo

Surfed - Australia 2007:
1 day with Al in Dandenong(VIC), 4 days with MSDANNY in Melbourne(VIC), 3 days with KILIMANIAU in Hobart(TAS), 1 day with Strossel in Fairhaven(VIC), 3 days with Ben & Nic in Adelaide(SA), 1 day with Meghan in Yulara(NT), 1 day with Phoebe in Alice Springs(NT), 2 days with Matthew in Katherine(NT), 8 days with Dhugal in Perth(WA), 1 day with SAMDAN in Albany(WA), another 3 days with Ben & Nic in Adelaide(SA), 4 days with Keriann in Melbourne(VIC), 1 day with Strossel in Melbourne(VIC), 1 day with Lori in Wallerawang(NSW), 3 days with David & Lisa in Sydney(NSW)

Surfed - Singapore 2007:
7 days with POLGARA in Singapore

Traveled with - USA 2011:
13 days Hawaii with Annika, 1 day Mauna Kea with Uhane, 1 day snorkeling with Stephanie

Traveled with - Australia 2010:
6 days Tassie and 4 days Victoria with Barbara, 12 days Outback with Kirin

Traveled with - Australia 2007:
2 days with Al, Keriann, Sara and Dieuwke on Great Ocean Rd, 9 days with MSDANNY in Tasmania, 89 days with MSDANNY around Australia

Traveled with - Singapore 2007:
2 days with Daniel Chou in Singapore


Life, people, music, movies, games, books, taking photos, cooking, gardening, conversation.
Moments, details, beauty within everything.

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to every kind of music, but not to every music (melody is important). ;)
[Metallica, CKY, Rammstein, Massive Attack, Megadeath, Manowar, Prodigy, Rage against the Mashine, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Seeed, System of a Down, Offspring, Wolfmother, many sountracks]

Movies you have to think about. Movies that make you wonder.
Sometimes some straight action.
[Matrix 1, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Hero, Stalker, Thin red line, Das Boot, Hunt for Red October, Starship Troopers, Pulp Fiction, Sin City, Kill Bill, Fight Club, Alien, Blade Runner, Mononoke Hime, Nausicaä, Ghost in the Shell, Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain, Mad Max 2 & 4, ...]

Documentation, history, strategy, SciFi and Fantasy;
[Schwarzer Mai, Der Zweite Weltkrieg im Pazifik, Battletech, Warhammer 40k, Die Entdeckung der Langsamkeit, Hagakure, The Little Prince, books from Peter F. Hamilton, David Eddings and Kim Stanley Robinson]

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A moonrise over palms, a light breeze, all at a quiet water reservoir in the middle of busy Singapore.

The feeling of complete peace while sitting on a veranda of a tiny cafe with a squeaking door together with a friend at the end of the world in the far-south of Tasmania.

Seeing how green hills become red. How trees fade to bush, grass and finally to dust and stone. Driving through the Red Center of Australia on the Oodnadatta Track for days. A red plain from horizon to horizon. Dust devils playing under a clear, blue sky. Total silence at night and stars above and beyond.

Standing at Cooper Creek filled with flood water which came down all the way from Queensland to fill Lake Eyre. A transformed desert full of water and life.

A hail and rain storm in the middle of the night at the shores of Lake Eyre in a small tent ready to run for the car. The noise so loud I used ear plugs.

A 3-week hike in Tasmania's South West Wilderness; navigation by compass, GPS and map only; reaching remote places which only few people visit each year.

All these little wonders when you take your time to look closer. The feeling to "see" not only with our eyes but with all of your skin. The feeling to be connected to everything without feeling tied.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you computer, programming and usability stuff. I can cook, enjoy gardening and I can show you how to plan remote hiking and 4x4 trips. I know a few things about 4x4 driving. I also can show you how to tie your shoes so that they don't get untied by accident.
I'd like to learn how to weld and how to fix cars. I'm curious how the stock-market (really) works. It would be great to improve my cooking and other things I like to do. Learning a few words in other languages sounds good to me as well.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Cook Islands, Cuba, Ecuador, French Polynesia, Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, United States, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    27 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see FLO80’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups