Logo orange

Suzanne Zuckerman

Brooklyn, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 27 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Suzanne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 67, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Educator and Writer
  • Masters degree
  • From Brooklyn, NY USA Born here, raised on Long Island then retuned
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see more of the world and know more of the people in it.

ABOUT ME

I am over 60 year old. When I was young the world was supposed to end long before I could get to be so very old. Of course I do not feel old and am slightly started when my students tell me what I think are common expressions are phrases they have never heard. I teach inner city Black and Hispanic teens in a Brooklyn high school.

I write novels, short stories and plays. Some published, some produced.

I am a good cook but hate to wash dishes so often avoid cooking by making one dish meals that start with a can of soup.

Whenever I have traveled in the past I have attempted to get to know the place I was visiting by becoming a volunteer in a program that would bring me into contact with residents on a sustained basis - I have done archeological digs, scientific observation and taught English.

I love beautiful craftsmanship so have brought back weavings, pottery, etc. from my travels. I am particularly fond of kaleidoscopes and try to find one or an optical toy of some kind in each country that I visit.

PHILOSOPHY

I have not codified my ideas into a anything as formal as a philosophy. I like to be helpful if I can and share knowledge where it is wanted.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am looking forward to participating by meeting people as I travel.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have stayed with friends in various American cities including Boston, San Francisco and New Orleans. And I have rented rooms apartments in Hong Kong, Kyoto and Chang Mai. But I have had no experience staying with a CouchSurfer.

Interests

I like to read and watch films on my computer. When I have time, I go to the theater, opera, ballet or a museum. I do one of these about once a week. During the summer I volunteer on archeological projects through EarthWatch and similar programs. I enjoy the creative process including photography, writing novels, stories and plays as well as owning beautiful hand made objects created by other people.

Music, Movies & Books

i have just discovered Edith Wharton after a life devoted to Marion Zimmer Bradley (in spite of her poor editing) and Anne Tyler.

For films it seems to be the same - last year's favorite vanishes in view of this year's. I just saw Me and Orsen which I enjoyed. I have been having a Shirley MaClaine festival on my computer and love pretty much everything she has done.

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea, Republic of, Luxembourg, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Suzanne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile