Derrick Huhn

San Francisco, CA, United States

Accepting Guests

  • 5% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Derrick’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Meeting new people, visiting new places, making new music...
  • Never finished learning
  • From Grew up in TX, TN, AL, HI, and The Philippines
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To boldly go where no couchsurfer has gone before


I'm originally from Austin, TX and recently moved to San Francisco to experience living life in a big city. I try to find something new to do every week; whether it be dining at a new restaurant, joining an online community (CS!), drinking a new beer at an unvisited dive bar, or attending a street fair or music festival, I always enjoy meeting new people during my new adventures. I'm interested in technology, making music, politics, and religion, though, I've heard it's uncouth to talk about the latter two subjects when meeting new people.


Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle

-- Plato

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


My roommates and I love to host couch surfers and try spend time with our guests showing them around the Mission and SF.


Made a lot of good friends through CS but have only travelled and surfed a handful of times. Hope to balance all my hosting experience later this year.


Dining out, learning the details of how things work, music creation and creators, talking about life and life experiences

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: The Fountain, Harold and Maude, Life is Beautiful, Happiness, Hook, The Science of Sleep

Music: Ratatat, Radiohead, Muse, Imogean Heap, Regina Spektor, Incubus

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

While traveling in Seoul, I attended a CS lunch meetup with a trio of travelers originating from Australia. Little did I know that my first ever couch surfing guest from a year prior was one of the three Australian travelers. It was such a serendipitous moment to run into my first guest when neither of us had prior knowledge the other was in Korea. We spent the next few days exploring the city together and await for our next random encounter in a foreign place.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a decent guitarist and can doodle on the piano and drums. Always looking to meet people who can teach me more about music or performance and also open to teaching others a song or two.

I also enjoy learning new phrases from our international couch surfing guests.

Countries I’ve Visited

Mexico, South Korea, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Philippines, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Derrick’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups