Logo orange

Xin

Singapore, Central Region, Singapore

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Xin 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 10 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Teacher (English and English Literat...
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel the world and live life to the fullest.

ABOUT ME

Hi everyone! I am Xin, an English and Literature teacher in Singapore. :) I have many names- in Singapore I go by my Chinese name, Xin Min. My French friends call me Simone, my Spanish-speaking friends call me Canela, and those who find my Chinese name difficult to pronounce call me Cinnamon. I am fine with any name you would like to call me to add on to this list. :D

To the surprise of many people, Singapore's main language of communication is English, which is how I communicate with my family and all my friends. While my accent takes some time to get used to (I am pretty self-conscious of that when I am travelling), I understand most English accents perfectly well. So if I am shy to talk to you, its simply because I am too conscious about my accent.

I am genuinely curious and would like to learn more about you!

ps. I know this is a great hindrance, but I am sadly allergic to alcohol and carbonated drinks, so I am unfortunately unable to take any drink you offer me unless its plain water or juice. =/ I don't mind going to pubs though, as long as I don't take any alcoholic drinks. =)

PHILOSOPHY

Life is short. so make the best use you can of it. Live without regrets.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I think CS is a fantastic way of meeting locals, and whoever came up with it is brilliant.

I really wish that I could host people, but because I am staying with my parents and 3 younger siblings, my home is packed already. :( So I guess hosting has to wait till I get my own house first.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been really lucky to be hosted by great couchsuring hosts. They made my trip to Europe very memorable, and I hope that I can pay forward the kindness that I have been shown.

Interests

Volunteering is definitely something I am passionate about. I have been volunteering since 2008, and my greatest dream is to be able to develop this passion into a full time job with an NGO in the future.

I enjoy cooking, and if you host me I would be more than happy to cook Asian food for you! (although I cannot guarantee that my food tastes great 100% of the time, but I will try my best! :D)

In my free time I find learning martial arts a great way for me to destress. I am currently learning Chinese Kungfu and Akido. However, I am a very peace loving person, so I will not practice/try it out on others unnecessarily since it is purely for self-defense purposes.

Music, Movies & Books

I especially enjoy science fiction and fantasy books, and adore writers like Salvatore, Prachett, David Eddings, Diana Wayne Jones, Tolkein etc.

My favourite music is oldies. Oldies are goodies! My younger siblings love to tease me, saying that I am always far too old.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Seeing the Northern Lights in Norway! Husky Sledding Snorkeling and coming into contact with coral reefs Visiting Macchu Picchu Taking a ride through Salar De Uyuni (salt flats in Uyuni)

Hoping to add skydiving to this list :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I will be more than happy to share anything you want to know about Singapore. If you like massages, my friends generally like my massages :) If you want to learn some basic Chinese I would be more than happy to help, but please keep in mind that my English level far surpasses my dismal grasp of the Chinese language.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I would love to cook for you and have meals with you! I will also generally bring some small keepsakes from Singapore to share with you hosts, and I believe in respecting your privacy and your house. Therefore, I will tidy up after myself, and be more than happy to help out in whatever household chores you might need help with. (I am pretty adept at doing the dishes.... well so far I have not broken anything...)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Chile, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lithuania, Malaysia, Norway, Peru, Poland, Slovakia, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Xin 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile