Andre Lau's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andre’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Japanese, Spanish, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Teaching English as a Foreign Language
  • B.Sc in Behavioral Neuroscience
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Exploring the world, its people and its culture, one country at a time ;D

ABOUT ME

I'm currently living in Montreal, Quebec, as a NEET (not in education, employment or training). I will be starting my M.A. in Child Studies and Education in September 2013.

I love travelling and exploring when I can, but I can easily keep myself occupied with parties, gaming, and karaoke. I love music and dance immensely, and though I have no talent at either of them, I can spend an entire day watching dance and listening to music.

I'm a bit of a dork, and I've been told that I'm real talkative, so we can literally talk about almost anything!

PHILOSOPHY

No need for war in this world.No need for hate between the people of this world.All we need is love. If you can't love another, then simply tolerate them.We are all human. Once you get to know them,Beyond the language,Beyond the religion,Beyond the culture and history,We are all looking for love,We are all looking for safety,And we are searching for our place in the world, in life.Its alright to be afraid. Its alright to not understand.But don't let that blind you to hurt others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Well, I started couch surfing in summer 2011 in Korea, and had the chance to meet some really incredible people, and experience travel in a whole new way. I know full well I was really blessed to have had those opportunities, and I want to give back to the community, and expand it by hosting in Japan too!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Just incredible experiences in Korea. The CS community there have been really good to us. I mean, besides a place to stay, we had a tour guide of the city, and obviously, great friends.

Interests

As I said before, I love music and dance. I listen to anything from classical and folk music, to rock and metal, insert rap and R'n'B in between, and throw in some trance and techno at the end there, and just about anything in between! I have a fascination with dance, and how beautifully it can express feelings. I started with an interest in breakdancing and pop-locking, and now I really appreciate latin dances and jazz dances too! I hope one day I'll get that chance to learn them!

I'm also a big sports person: I love playing soccer, and also just plain running is fun for me.

  • culture
  • singing
  • acting
  • dancing
  • education
  • running
  • coach
  • partying
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • folk music
  • jazz
  • karaoke
  • surfing
  • sports
  • fencing
  • soccer
  • teaching
  • history
  • religion
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Red Hot Chili Peppers, Linkin Park, Metallica, Eminem, Dr. Dre, Billy Talent, The Offspring, Hollywood Undead, 30 Seconds to Mars, Fall Out Boy, Mariana's Trench, My Chemical Romance, Queen, Aerosmith, Eagles, Muse, Avenged Sevenfold, Daft Punk, Tiesto, Ratatat, Bruno Mars, Vienna Teng, Enya, Beethoven, Bach,
Rachmaninoff, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Mozart, Schubert, Liszt, Chopin...

Movies: The Matrix, Inception, Terminator 2, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, V for Vendetta, My Sassy Girl, Oldboy, Ip Man,

Book: Lord of the Flies, 1984, Fahrenheit 451, Catcher in the Rye, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I participated in musical, despite having no formal training in acting or singing. We rehearsed over 150hrs each for our parts. The play was entirely created by members of my residence in university, from the story and script, to the music and songs. The set was also designed constructed by the students, and even promotion and marketing was handled by the students. I have no vocal training, and I'd say I'm really not a great singer, but I still played one of the leads in this musical. Probably one of the amazing achievements in my life, because of how much effort everyone had poured into this, and the final result was successful, without any big hiccups.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach English and French, and I am a qualified fencing coach in Canada, having 3 years of experience coaching, and a total of 8 years of fencing training.

What I'd love to learn is, how to play music, how to dance, and how to paint ;D

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, South Korea, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Japan, Singapore

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Andre’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups