Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 41% response rate
  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Frank and Marjolein’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 15 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 27, Other
  • Member since 2012
  • Graphic-, web- & UX Design, IT Development & Management
  • Bachelor in Design & Computer Science / Masters in Inform...
  • From Amsterdam, North Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

We (Frank & Marjolein) are both in our twenties and living the good life here in Amsterdam. Although we can both be a bit stubborn, we're very happy together. We're outgoing and like good food & drinks, music, design & arts. We're currently working hard to finish our studies so we can go travel more :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We've started with CouchSurfing in September 2012, and have had a couple of people surfing our couch. The summer of 2013 we've been traveling trough Europe by train and surfed our first couches ourselves.

After the summer of '13 we have not been able to host as much as we like, but whenever we are able, guests are always welcome.


We've had some very good experiences with both our guests as with meetups with others here in Amsterdam. Whenever possible, we love to show the hidden gems in the city.


We're both working and studying (Design/art & Information Science) so when we've got some time off we'd like to share it with our friends and guests. We both love design, architecture, traveling and food as well as a good bottle of wine or a fine glass of beer.

  • arts
  • architecture
  • design
  • dining
  • recipes
  • wine
  • beer
  • drinking
  • technology
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • surfing
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Frank likes to read a bit more than Marjolein, and picks up any book thats interesting; mostly Fantasy (e.g. Game of Thrones) and real world research (e.g. on topics like economy, technology, industry and psychology).

We're both huge Marvel fans but can equally go to an Indie movie screening as well. We watch way to many series, a few examples are Game of Thrones, The Americans, Sense 8 and Breaking Bad.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Frank: I got three things; The pyramids of Gizeh, near Caïro, which I saw as a little 9-year old boy and the nature around both Dubrovnik (Croatia) and the north side of Tenerife during spring. Absolutely in love with it.

Marjolein: Watching the sunrise on top of a volcano and setting turtles free on Java. Typical family trips in Europe with the mobile home.

Teach, Learn, Share

Sharing recipes is always nice. Other than that we're both into design, digital communication and films which we love to discuss.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Our love for good food and drinks and ideas on design or technology questions.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Morocco, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Frank and Marjolein’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups