Chris Mcfarland's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Graduate Student
  • Bachelor Degree
  • From Detroit, MI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a full time graduate student working on my Master of Public Health degree at Oregon State University. I've lived in Corvallis for a little over 9 years now and love it. I have 3 grown children and 3 grandchildren. I love the outdoors and exploring Oregon when I have the chance. I've backpacked in Thailand and Mexico and stayed in hostels and loved meeting new travelers and hearing their stories.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To offer up a safe place to call a home base for travelers and to be able to show them around the Willamette Valley if opportunity arises.

Interests

Brewing beer, hiking, wine tasting. Going to the coast and enjoying the sand. Backpacking and hiking in the summer and snowboarding in the winter with snow permitting. Cooking good food at home and enjoying good beer or wine with friends. Board games with friends as well as a good movie.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • wine tasting
  • board games
  • homebrewing
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • snowboarding

Music, Movies, and Books

Any kind of music that makes me want to tap my toes. I love seeing live music. All over the spectrum with movies and books as well.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacked in Thailand for almost a month by myself. Put myself through college and grad school. Hitchhiked across Canada and the U.S. more than once.

Teach, Learn, Share

As a nontraditional college student I've grown to love learning and sharing with different people from completely different cultures than my own. I feel that we all have so much to teach each other. Learning from people is something that never stops.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A warm, safe place to call a home base. Kind, friendly hosts with some knowledge of the Willamette Valley and the surrounding areas. Willingness to show guests around the area depending on availability with life. At the very least I can offer a safe place and good conversation,

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, Taiwan, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile. It’s free!