Gary Roberts's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gary’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Self Emplyed
  • Some College/University
  • From Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

I am a bit of a non conformist free thinker who tends to ponder allot and lives life like it is an amusement park with many adventures to experience. I have done so many things in my life it is hard to pick which ones to list. I am proficient at so much and a jack of all trades, I am self reliant and self employed. I have a high IQ, a High EQ, and a good intuitive ability. I like many sports. I am very easy to get along with and love people. I am spiritual in that I am not religious but I know there are forces at work above and beyond the detection of our 5 normal senses. And I have spent most of my life pursuing the answers to the tough questions of life like that one. I have done this by studying topics like Psychology, Physics, Religion, Spirituality, Philosophy, Biology, Anthropology, and so much more. I would say seeking knowledge is my # 1 priority in life, people are my second, and having fun my third. I tend to be stuck in the nice guy profile in this lifetime, but I am not innocent by any means. I have done and seen it all, so much so that I find it kinda hard to slow life down enough to do the so called "normal" thing. Not like I hang from my feet in the closet when I sleep but I am not the kind of person who spends all of my time talking about things like the weather. I am more likely to ask you why you think you exist, than how your day at work was. Or I would probably ask both.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I very much like people, I like meeting them and talking to them. I went through a break up with my 10 year common law girlfriend a few years back, and now I live alone and in a new place. I Kinda miss having company around to talk to, so I figured this is a good way to meet people and reduce the loneliness. I do live in the beautiful location of Lake Cowichan, but I moved here only a while ago from Victoria and all of my friends live down there not here. Lake Cowichan is set in the beautiful mountains of Vancouver island half way from either coast of the island and I live right across the street from the lake and the trail head of the Trans Canada Trail, and on the same block as 6 restaurants. So I thought it was a place that would be ideal for light or backpack travelers. I am a traveler myself (although mostly on this continent) and loved meeting new people while traveling, so I thought I would try to be on this end of it for a change.

Interests

  • cooking
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • volleyball
  • philosophy
  • travelling
  • knowledge
  • exploring
  • learning
  • spitituality

Music, Movies, and Books

I am a fairly deep thinker who also likes to have fun, I generally like movies, shows and books that make me think, or are about my fun interests. I like movies such as the Matrix, The Endless Summer, or The Nines, I enjoy shows like Closer to Truth, Cosmos, Westworld, Brain Dead, The Brink, Mr Robot, Anthony Bordain, or The Walking Dead, and I like books like Illusions, Jonathon Livingston Seagull, The Holographic Universe, Autobiography of a Yogi, or Quantum Mechanics. I also listen to radio shows like Midnight in the Desert, After Midnight, and Coast to Coast, every night I have nothing else to do. I have varied taste in music, from 80s to new age, from classical to rock. I like so many artists like Pink Floyd, Mike Oldfield, The Doors, and on, and on, and on.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This is a hard one, I have done many amazing things in my life, as I have not lived my life like most of the people out there. Off hand I guess I would say one of the most interesting things I have done is I drove from one coast of Canada to the other 4 times in 6 years exploring as much of it as I could. That is a 10 hour a day, 10 day drive, coast to coast both ways, 4 times in 6 years. And that travel time I mentioned is if you go strait there and strait back, which I did not do. I explored all over the place on the way there and the way back.

Now if they meant it in the what amazing thing have I created way, I created the largest Adult Volleyball League/Association on Vancouver Island which and ran it for the first 10 years of it's existence..

Teach, Learn, Share

My life personifies Teach, Learn, Share, as I have spent most of it seeking knowledge like the truth behind reality, and so I am constantly talking about like subjects with people who are also interested. So sharing can not be helped as it is by-product of learning, when you have educated yourself a great deal, sharing is a natural part of communicating with people. Now if they meant that question in the more traditional sense of sharing, in a more physical/material way, then I also find being me is sharing naturally, I think most experiences and things are better when shared with others. Things seems to be more real when more than one person experiences it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well I can share my place in a wonderful location, good food, very interesting conversation, allot of kindness, a sense of wonder, , fun times, and allot more. I have a spare bedroom and or a couch or two. I have several kayaks and the park to launch them is right across the street to either go out on the lake or a ways down the river , it is also where to go swimming if you want. The Trans Canada Trailhead is also right across the street. I have a large fully functional kitchen, a nice living room with couches, a nice stereo and a 70 inch high def 3D TV. Several restaurants are on my block.

Countries I’ve Visited

England, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Gary’s full profile. It’s free!