Logo orange

Samantha Fischer

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

77% response rate · Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 23 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Creole (Jamaica), German, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Graduate Student/Tutor
  • Graduate degree in progres
  • From Streetsville, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*** I tend to only host a few times a year, for a few weeks at a time. Right now, I am open to hosting up until the 17th of July. ***

HOWEVER, if you are a cat-person, and have tons of references (10+), we do need cat sitters to stay at our place on weekends (notably in the summer). Our cats all have special needs. One requires daily medication (which are sometimes given as injections, but tell me if you're not cool with that), one cannot walk, and one has horrible poops if she eats anything other than one type of food. You really have to like cats for this to be good for you. Otherwise, everyone (including you) will regret it. If you're interested in staying at our place and cat-sitting, please sent me a request for the weekend you'd want to come, and tell me a bit about your experiences with cats.

CURRENT MISSION

Move ahead in my career. Pay off debts. See the world. Learn forever.

ABOUT ME

I don't find very many things, or people, boring, and I tend to like most things and people.

When I'm asked what I like, it's usually easier to list what I do not like instead. I don't sports that are played with balls (I am sure that there is some kind of force field drawing flying objects to my head, and my 15 pairs of broken glasses from grade school gym class would attest to this fact), and anything involving sports cars (but, I do like talking about cars in general). I also dislike malls, public pools, and math. But, I find everything else in this world pretty awesome.

Otherwise, I'll likely find whatever you'd like to talk about interesting, and find whatever you want to do to be a good idea (I'd be more than happy to learn about your hobbies, if they involve sports cars and/or sports, though!).

Although I honestly like doing most things, I more specifically like learning languages, travelling, volunteering, following global politics/events, meeting new people (like most people here), documentaries, board games (disclaimer: apparently, I can be a bit competitive, and I'm a terrible loser, but I'm working on it), good conversations that last all night, hanging out in coffee shops with good friends, trivia, expanding my (currently, fairly limited) knowledge of science, talking politics/religion (and all the things you're not supposed to do), doing outside-themed things, obtaining new pets, learning about insects/looking for insects, contemplating the void (preferably, with someone else), editing other people's homework, watching roller derby/contemplating joining the roller derby team, gay clubs that play bad top 40s music, and video games.

As you can probably imagine, these diverse interests have made it a bit hard for me to pick a career. I've been a prospective environmental scientists, historian, social worker, research psychologist, social psychologist, epidemiologist, and school psychologist. Right now, I'm finishing my degree in Educational Psychology at Simon Fraser University, but I have (generally) really hated it.

For money, I'm currently a private tutor (I'll be doing this for a living once I'm done graduate school). I'm in the process of opening a small business that provides educational consulting with parents/students with special needs, psychometric testing, and tutoring. But, that's not the long-term plan. I'm (very, very, slowly) preparing to do a career shift into medicine, but I'm not expecting this to work out for me for a few years. :) In the fall, I will be continuing to work my way (very slowly) through first-year science courses at the community college. :)

PHILOSOPHY

Live honestly without fear, and bravely without regret.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Despite being slightly inclined towards introversion and books, it doesn't take too long for me to get lonely (weird, right?). I know first-hand how lonely it can be to travel alone, or to move to a new city. Therefore, whenever I can, I try to welcome people into my home, and I don't hesitate to get in touch with people when I am in their city.
In addition to de-lonelying myself/delonelying other people, I really enjoy meeting new people (like most people here :)).
I also do rideshares, and, from time to time, have rented out my spare room.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Every solvable problem can be solved on Couch Surfing (seriously, try this out, and prove me wrong). From needing new friends to giving away old furniture, this site has been an amazing way to connect with a lot of really open-minded people, and to make the world just a bit smaller. Plus, I've met so many awesome people, and learned so many cool things.

Interests

If I had to pick my top interests, I'd pick traveling (like most people on this site), current events, social justice issues, science, learning lots of Fun Facts about lots of really random tings, health, community building, doing anything outside, and languages. But, again, I'm basically interested in everything for at least a half hour.

Music, Movies & Books

Media-
I love documentaries, and I usually watch at least one a day. This started because, sometime around a year ago, I decided that - as long as I was learning - I was not procrastinating/avoiding school work. I usually have Al Jazeera playing in the background if I'm cleaning my house, or even doing work.

In terms of movies, I tend to like dramas, and well-done comedies, but I tend to prefer TV shows.

Some shows I enjoy are Six Feet Under, Community, Orange Is the New Black, Black Mirror, Breaking Bad, The Big Bang Theory, Law and Order SVU, House, Last Week Tonight, Arrested Development, Orphan Black, and a lot more that I am not thinking of right now.

Music: My taste is really random, and this is because I have synesthesia. It's a rare thing which makes me hear music as colours and shapes- I'll show you a youtube video of what that is like when you get here if you're curious what it's like. Since I listen to music differently than most people, it's a bit hard for me to describe my tastes, and I I actually realized I had this condition when I recently realized that people had no idea what I was talking about when I was describing the type of music I like ("Play more circle songs!!!! You know my favourite songs are circle songs!").

Some artists I like include Connor Orbst, Feist, Bright Eyes, Regina Spektor, Lorenna Mckennit, Beirut, Neil Young, Nightwish, and the Decemberists. I also really like top 40s after a few drinks.

Books: I tend to enjoy non-fiction, and biographies. Some books I've enjoyed are Catcher In The Rye, Prisoner of Tehran, Slaughterhouse-Five, An Unquiet Mind, A Woman in Berlin, A Series of Unfortunate Events, Mother Night, The Reader, Cat's Cradle, Upstairs in the Crazy House, Tolkien, What the Body Remembers. I used to read a lot, but 8 years of post-secondary makes reading feel a (tiny) bit like I'm doing work.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I really don't like this question. Too many things to pick, and too much subjectivity regarding what is "awesome."

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a fair bit about Canadian history, and travel in Canada if you need advice. I also like helping people settle down in Vancouver (as this is something I have had quite an adventure doing myself, and I know it isn't super-easy).

If you're starting off in French, I can help you get going. :) I also can teach you how to swear like a Parisan, but we'll have to wait until my French girlfriend is not around (even though her good friends taught me how to do this, apparently, I'm not supposed to teach that to other people...and, they taught me some super-awful things that you are not supposed to teach people who are learning French...).

I am also an English as a second language teacher, so I can help you with English if you would like.

I like sharing good meals, good drinks, a day at the beach, and information about Vancouver or Toronto.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, India, Italy, Nepal, South Korea, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile