Logo orange

Gemma Sellares

Navas, Catalonia, Spain

Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gemma's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 17 Positive References
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, French, Spanish; learning German
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From I had a happy childhood in a village near Barcelona
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see the world, learn about different cultures and enjoy life.

ABOUT ME

I'd like to think I am a friendly open-minded person. I love travelling, learning languages and learning about different cultures. I lived in a village near Barcelona, Catalonia until I was 18 and since then I have lived almost 10 years in various places of the UK, Zurich, Switzerland and in Paris.
I love ALL cultures and languages, but I missed my own so I decided to come back to my roots, but not without going travelling in South and Central America with my English boyfriend first!
PLEASE NOTE I DO NOT LIVE IN BARCELONA CITY. I LIVE IN A VILLAGE CALLED NAVÀS, NEAR THE PYRENEES MOUNTAINS.

PHILOSOPHY

If you are nice to people, they'll be nice back to you. Be open-minded as most of the arguments between people of 2 different cultures are misunderstandings caused by a lack of knowledge of the other culture. If something seems rude to you, try and conceive the idea that it may not be rude in this other person's culture and that probably they did not mean to upset you.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hosted some CouchSurfers while I was living in Paris in 2009-2010.

Then I went travelling for a few months in South and Central America and couch surfed in various occasions. It was my preferred option, as I think meeting the locals is the best way to really understand a country and its culture. Also, there is the money reason, of course, i could not afford to do it any other way :-D

After my travels, I have gone back to my home country and I am settling in Barcelona. I love the Couch Surfing concept and I'd be so proud to be able to show visitors my city.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted my first CouchSurfers during my year in Paris and I surfed some couches during my travels in South and Central America. I have also hosted and surfed since I came back to Europe. It's always been a great exeprience!

Interests

travelling, going out, socialising, reading, learning languages, discovering different cultures, photography

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Living

Teach, Learn, Share

Share languages. I can teach the basics of the languages I can speak and I'd love to hear some of your own mother tongue. Otherwise, we can also practice the languages we speak in common and we are trying to improve.
Also, if you like photography, I'd love to show you some of my picts and hear some of your tips. I am a beginner in photography but I absolutely love it and I think there is potential in me ;-)
My boyfriend is a speed cubist, which means he can solve the rubick's cube in just a few seconds, it is really impressive and if you are interested, he can teach you how to do it too, so that you can go back home and show off in front of all your mates!

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malta, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

France, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Gemma's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile