Geoffroy Berson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Geoffroy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Czech
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • No occupation listed
  • Sciences Po
  • From Dijon, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a French expat who just moved to Namibia in April 2021.

I grew up in Dijon (FR), studied political sciences in Paris and Prague, worked for 2 years in Estonia (2016/18) then in Madagascar (2019/21).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I took a gap year in the middle of my Master's and started traveling in Europe. That's how I discovered couchsurfing, I loved it and instantly thought that's how traveling should be.

Now my hosting possibilities depend on my current flat, and I'm moving a lot. Check out my current status or write me to know if I can host you!

Interests

Travelling is my n°1. I love to discover how people really live around the world.

Besides travelling, I'd say my main interest is probably politics. Yeah I know it can be boring for some so I don't expect everyone to talk about it! But for me that's a mean to understand a bit better the place I'm in. If that's not your cup of tea, any topic related to the place I'm visiting will interest me!

It's unlikely you won't notice that I'm a big fan of craft beers. Actually, finding the best spots to taste local treats is an important part of how I travel and discover new places!

And I like to bike in cities. When they're bike-friendly, of course.

Finally I can add I'm fond of fine teas, especially Japanese!

  • beer
  • politics
  • technology
  • traveling
  • electronic music
  • cycling
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I mostly listen to electronic music, spend a good share of my time watching TV shows (I'm a big fan of Nordic Noir), and am an amateur of Russian movies.

I read a lot: be it the media (French, US), non-fiction (history, economics, etc.) and also novels (my favorite writer alive is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and among the oldest ones probably Marai or Tolstoi).

I'm always eager to discover anything that can help make sense of the world.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Although I'm not a developer I'm fascinated by how tech can be used for useful purposes. So I tried several little things in that regard:

Back in college years I made an app with a friend that spots our favorite cafés and bars in Europe (http://nazdravi.strikingly.com). It hasn't been updated in years but I'm still using it a bit when traveling.

And when I was in Paris I was active in what we call the civic tech scene — those people trying to use tech to improve democracy. I co-founded the French chapter of an international movement promoting open source software in politics (called DemocracyOS). If that's of any interest for you can we talk about it a bit deeper.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to discover new languages even though I'm not very good at them. Like, I regularly try to learn one on duolingo... But unfortunately I never go further than the very basics.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well, I'm obviously working in the day but then I'm available in the evenings to hang out or discover the city together.

Stop here your expectations about French or local food: I'm not a cook. AT ALL :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Madagascar, Namibia

Join Couchsurfing to see Geoffroy’s full profile.