Anaïs Giacinti's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anaïs’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 18 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • PhD student (in neurosciences)
  • Ecole Polytechnique (maths-physics-computer science), and...
  • From Rennes, Brittany, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Practise regularly and learn more about meditation, and spend some time to Plum Village. Also, try to organize an exhibition of my pastel/charcoal drawings.


Waw... Difficult item.
Shy but doing my best to change this... Enjoying meeting people and spending time with them... Curious, eager to learn about anything, about any place... As open-minded as I can... Still (too) idealistic... Fond of nature's beauty... Enjoying making things advance, having responsibilities...


I want to be useful, to be here for the others...
I also want to discover the world, new cultures, new people, new ways of life. Not very original on CS, I know!
And to enjoy life, simply... or more precisely, to look for the best way to enjoy life. I think I'll spend my whole life trying different things to find it, and it's certainly what life is about!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Hosting, when I have time to do it. Sometimes participating to meetings and activities. I also organized a CS Christmas in Bordeaux in 2012.


Had a great time with Aurélie and Ming when I first arrived in Bordeaux on september 2010... I was waiting for my appartment, and it was a good occasion to meet CouchSurfers who knew the city. I started hosting only one year after (before I was with housemates), and I've spent great moments with interesting/original/crazy surfers.
I have also surfed 6 different couches in Japan with a friend, during a 3-weeks trip, and that was a very nice experience. It motivated me to host again (after a while without hosting, because of lack of time).


I'm obviously interested in neuroscience, and I'll be glad to talk about my research or anything I know in this field! I'm more generally interested in biology, in science. And I'm also more and more interested in politics and geopolitics, in how our world functions... And trying to see how I can contribute to this. I'm currently working with Amnesty International, I was during one year in charge of the youngs group of AI in Bordeaux, still active and participating to our different actions.
I also like sport in general. I'm doing orienteering, mostly during weekends, don't hesitate to contact me if you want to run into forests, looking for the checkpoints on your map! I think this sport perfectly fits to me, I love being in the nature out of the ways. I like hiking too, and outside activities in general.
I enjoy drawing and computer design too, even if I don't have enough time to practise it... I draw with charcoal and pastels. Hoping to take part to an exhibition one day, and open the door from the arts world!

  • arts
  • design
  • beauty
  • running
  • meditation
  • politics
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • drawing
  • hiking
  • sports
  • biology
  • geopolitics
  • neuroscience
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Any kind of music! Depending on my mood.
Concerning books, I don't read fiction too often (my favorite fiction writer being at the moment Erri de Luca, and I like a lot Lyonel Trouillot too) - I prefer to read a book which learns me something about our world, our life. Yeah I know, fictions can do it too, but it's different...
I really enjoy going to the cinema. There is one 20 seconds from my flat, so when I have nothing special to do or to read and no one to see, I go there...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Doing a four months military internship in Tahiti, as an officer, after only 4 months in the army. Leading a platoon of polynesians who had just come in the army... Something I would have never thought I'd be able to do! Seeing them change. Seeing me change too... Discovering the two things I like most : spending usefully time for the others, and traveling.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can try to teach everything that appears in the part "interests". And to learn about anything which appears or not in this part! Just teach me the things you like, you're interested in, it's always great to discover things that are important for people who are teaching it to you.

Countries I’ve Visited

French Polynesia, Germany, Ghana, Italy, Japan, South Africa, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Anaïs’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups