Logo orange

gidgetgogo

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see gidgetgogo's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 43 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Civil Servant
  • BBA, IT Diploma
  • From Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy all that life has to offer, to experience new things, to meet people from every country, to laugh, dance, and sing!

ABOUT ME

Like to laugh, have a wacky sense of humor. I've been told I have a "child-like" nature - but not in an immature way ;). In my old age, I hope I am wiser! Love meeting people from different places, trading stories, debating philosophies. Done some travelling and some living, but not as much as I want! I volunteer off and on, usually with international and/or cultural groups, sometimes tutoring in English. Although I'm neither artistic or creative, I love to listen and look - we're important pieces of the puzzle too.

Although I had done some travelling in Canada and the US when I was younger, it was only when I was shipped across to China to do an IT work term for 6 months that the wanderlust flame was fully ignited. And finally, with a decent paying job working for the Man (gotta do what you gotta do), I'm able to do more of what I also wanted to do - travel. So although it's always on a budget, it's the experiences I have along the way that is the most important.

So much to say, so little space! Until we meet again ...

PHILOSOPHY

Be and let be. Shake your groove thang. Is it time for a nap yet? What's your happy dance look like?

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By offering a couch for any desperate souls and by offering help or advice on sightseeing and things to do. And I tell everyone I meet all about the website! And donated $25 to the project.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

First realtime CS experience was when I went to Europe for the first time (May 2009) and met with a wonderful CS'er for dinner and a stroll. I've attended some local CS events, had a few surfers, hosted some events, and am always available to hang out, go out to eat, listen to music, do some local sightseeing.

A shout-out to my hosted CS'ers:
1. Bryan (everywhere), Aug. 2009
2. Jesus S. (Mexico), Sept. 2009
3. Nadine (Germany), 2010

And some of my hanging out travelling CS'ers:
1. Jess & Kim (Vancouver & Toronto most times)
2. Saeeda (Toronto)
3. Julie (Montreal)
4. Rui B. (Portugal)
5. Cherry (US)
6. Barb B. (US)

Interests

Reading, volunteering, researching on the Net, learning new things, kayaking (new), cycling (newish), always something on the go. I like cultural exchanges and will always include some sightseeing, museums and art galleries in my travels. Currently trying to learn a number of languages all at the same time, not so easy to do at my age ;)

Music, Movies & Books

Movies of action, suspense, comedy. Music of R&B, Blues, Soul, Reggae, Classical, mostly. Books of mystery and suspense, spiritual and self-knowledge. Light and easy for the most part cause daily life is serious enough and I've done my book learning for now through my uni degree and college diploma.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Just one?! Most amazing so far ... standing on Great Wall, not once but twice! It is said in China that you are not a great man until you have stood on the Great Wall two times. Well in this day and age, I say I am then a great woman! The 2nd time on the Wall was the most amazing in that it was remote with only our small group to be seen far in the distance either way.

Teach, Learn, Share

TEACH: Tutored English off and on for many a year. I enjoy intermediate-advanced teaching with using phrases, colloquialisms and/or slang, and debating issues, but also can help with the basics (as others have helped me in my various language learning basics).

SHARE: I'm a researchaholic so if you are looking for info that's not so easy to find, I probably can ;) I can share info on what to do in the area, what to see, where to stay.

I'm supposed to have an IT diploma so I am usually found to be helping someone clean their computer or teach them some software skills.

LEARN: I enjoy learning about cultural differences and sharing with others. Trying to learn French, Spanish, Italian and Portugeuse all at the same time!

And of course, I'm really good at laughing at myself and can help you learn that special skill too.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, China, Cuba, France, Japan, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, China

Join Couchsurfing to see gidgetgogo's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile