Gonzague de Bretagne's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gonzague’s full profile.

Overview

  • 71 references 44 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Enseignant / French Teacher in elementary school
  • Maitrise / Master degree in teaching
  • From Boulogne-sur-Mer, Hauts-de-France, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Franco-canadien en congés sabbatiques, je voyage en France en van et vélo pour une année.

ABOUT ME

Français d’origine, je vis depuis 10ans à Montréal au Canada où je suis enseignant en école primaire anglophone.

I like art, to talk about that. Arrr! I always want to know, to understand all, but, unfortunatly, some things cannot be explained !

I like to be surprise and to surprise. I like chalenges against myself, and to push back my limits.

I'm sensitive, playfull. Life is a great scene where I like to play different roles, musician, traveller, reader, employee, student, teacher... It's my way to observe the society and the world, and to wonder to myself what influence I have or I want to have.

I can be quiet for a long time, change my state of mind very quickly. Well, I'm unique ! ;)

PHILOSOPHY

I TRY to :
* "Be myself, no matter what they say."
* not juge the others in « seven seconds »
* be attentive and equanimous.
* "Le véritable voyage de découverte ne consiste pas à chercher de nouveaux paysages, mais à avoir de nouveaux yeux." (Marcel Proust)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
One day in 2006, my dear brother, who lives Belgium, talked to me about Couchsurfing. Since this day, I use it a lot. It's great !

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
Going back home after a big travel, specially alone, is not easy. How to explain to your family, to share with your friends all the things you saw, you lived, alone ?
I realized that yes, of course, I shared all this time with the others, these people I met, with me as well. This time was true, forever.
And now ? Life goes on, richer day after day.

Interests

Personal development, the others, vipassana meditation, photography, music, video, cooking, life !

And yes, I want to make a movie. I don't know how, what, when... It's a dream since I'm a baby. So, yes, it's time... I know...
It could be a movie as the cheap Michel Gondry's way, or an experimental movie incomprehensible even by me, or a love story between two animals, or, actuallly, a documentary with people, real people, immigrants, artists, old people, touching story of those who fight to live their story, their legend, those who create something new, something from their deep thoughts... wow, that's a good one... Let's go !

  • animals
  • arts
  • photography
  • documentaries
  • education
  • cooking
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Rock inde : Arcade Fire, Patrick Watson, Half Moon Run, The Growlers, Flo Morrisey, An Pierlé, Metronomy…
Electronic : Trentemoller, Vitalic, Ratatat, Nils Frahm,
Classic: The Beatles, Michael Jackson, Leonard Cohen…
Pop: Sia, The Weeknd, Sigrid, Gizmo Varillas…
Rap: Keny Arkana…
Metal: Gogira, morbid Angel, Death…
Composer : Philip Glass, Craig Amstrong, Michael Nyman...
Writer : Herman Hesse, Frédéric Lenoir, Michel Onfray,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2016, I decided to cross South America by bike, through the Andes. I wanted to bike 6000km to raise 6000$. This money was given to an organism witch send 100 used bike to Haiti.
https://youtu.be/IwY_htACI5o
https://ibikeforbikes.wordpress.com/2016/03/24/a-personal-challenge/

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some guitare and, of course, some french.
I need to learn all the rest... :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Discussion, biking, visit my neighborhood…

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mali, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France

Old School Badges

  • 20 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Gonzague’s full profile.

My Groups