Logo orange

Gözde Meşeli

İstanbul, Turkey

Maybe Accepting Guests

0% response rate · Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gözde's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 18 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Turkish; learning Russian
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • studied International Relations at K...
  • From Istanbul, Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

find more about my inner self
and survive the existing world system

ABOUT ME

I am in a stage of changing and finding out more about myself. I enjoy writing, taking photos, smiling, and sharing things with people I feel close to.
Anyone who is friendly and sincere I can become friends with regardless of their belief system/gender/preferences etc or race.

PHILOSOPHY

"Little things. I think it's the same with people. I
see in them little details, so specific to each other, that move me, and that I
miss, and...will always miss. You can never replace anyone because everyone is made up of such beautiful specific details." Before Sunset

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I usually surf in other people's couches . But this year, I will have my own place! So I can host you. My place is in Kadıköy, center of Asian side of Istanbul. You would need to share my room for my flatmate's sake. I also enjoy meeting people to just talk and|or to go around the place we are in.
I currently live in İstanbul (1 more year to go!) No one knows where I will be after that though.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I only have a couple of CS experiences which were all intense and extremely positive. I surfed in France, Morocco, Serbia, and Egypt and India. I met many more people through CS though.
I want to gain more experiences!

Interests

I love travelling (obviously). But I love a couple of things the most: having discussions on interesting issues (politics, philosophy etc.) with the people of the place I am visiting, visiting the natural things around the place ( a cave, a canyon etc.) and visiting the human-creation spiritual monuments.
I am also very much interested in voluntary work. I have been involved in a couple of projects by now, not much. I would be happy to share my voluntary experience as well as learn from other volunteers about theirs.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Some of my favorite musicians are Birsen Tezer, Hindi Zahra, Gorsn Bregovic, Nina Simone, John Lennon, Natacha Atlas, Adele, Yann Tiersen, Norah Jones, Amy Winehouse, Camille.Movies: Especially Fatih Akın, Kim Ki-duk, Çağan Irmak, Majid Majidi, Woody Allen and Alfred Hitchcock movies are my favorite. Some movies I like are Psycho, Alice in the Cities, Baran, 3-Iron, Inception, Sweeney Todd, Don Juan De Marco, Im Juli, Issız Adam (The Lonely Guy), Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Midnight in Paris
Books: Le Petit Prince, The Bastard of Istanbul, Calikusu, 1984, Beyaz Kale

One Amazing Thing I've Done

-I visited my relatives in Kosovo that even my father have never seen. I couldn't communicate better with people with whom I had no common language.
-I biked from Istanbul to Erzincan around 1000 kilometers in 10 days.
-I couchsurfed in a hostel in Georgia (need to meet me for the details of the story:))
-Recently I found out that my CS host in Morocco had passed away. I felt like I lost a close relative of mine. I truly understood that it is possible to connect with anyone around the world no matter who they are.

Teach, Learn, Share

My biggest passion is learning new languages. I want to improve my french and russian, then learn arabic and japanese.I am interested in voluntary work. I can give tips about that and share my knowledge (which is actually not a lot lol:))I am also interested in history. I can give detailed historical information about Turkey and Istanbul. I want to learn about histories of other countries.
Recently I have become interested in teaching/counseling. At school I give voluntary tutoring on some subjects to develop my skills.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Some Turkish cuisine, history and culture and an objective perspective on politics. I also play some ukulele. I can show you around during the weekends and some evenings during the week since I will be working during the weekdays.

Countries I've Visited

Armenia, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Egypt, France, Georgia, India, Italy, Kosovo, Macedonia, Morocco, Netherlands, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

France, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Gözde's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile