Logo orange

Gretchen's Groups

Gretchen Proulx

Boston, Massachusetts, United States

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gretchen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Study...work...travel
  • I am a 3rd year student at Boston Un...
  • From Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Still working on that one, but as of right now just enjoying life as a student!

ABOUT ME

Well...basically I am a person who hates boredom! When I travel, I like to experience as much and meet as many people as time and budget will allow, meanwhile forgetting about my student loans and the fact that I may one day be...

But anyways...yes travel, travel, travel!! Meet new people and enrich my viewpoint on the world as well as who I am as a person. That is my philosophy. If I stay with you or vice versa, you better be ready to salsa dance, listen to live music while sipping drinks at an outdoor café (only during the summer in Boston of course), and be ready to go, go, go, from sunup to sundown. Or... maybe you'd prefer a nice picnic in the park to talk and get to know one another. Either way, it is bound to be an adventure! I do have to warn you however that I occasionally forget to leave time for sleep in my schedule and whether I am traveling in Europe or just sticking to my daily routine in Boston, I keep busy. But then again, that's what traveling is all about isn't it? Making the most of every minute and making sure to meet as many people as possible along the way. Am I right?

And oh, by the way...I play the accordion!

PHILOSOPHY

If there is one thing I could say about myself, it is that I love learning - learning in the sense of studying another language or simply learning about the differences and similarities between people around the world, so that I can further understand why I am the person I am and why I do the things that I do. I also love to learn how things come about and why they are the way they are today, such as why the world is a bunch of different countries and cities, all with different laws and customs and why the Earth is not just one giant country. I love finding out what makes people tick, which is why I am studying Occupational Therapy, a career in which I can help people rediscover and relearn what makes them most happy in life. Some of my favorite ways to spread happiness amongst the people I meet is through music and dancing, both of which are an integral of my life and hopefully a passion which I can share with the many different people I will meet throughout my life. If not, well then I am sure there is something else we will have in common, as I am easy-going, outgoing, and always ready to try something new. I hope to get the chance to meet you. Until then, ciao!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to the couchsurfing community and hope to begin my experiences while I am abroad in Europe for the semester. I also plan to attend weekly CS events in Madrid while I am here.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I guess I have unofficially CouchSurfed for the past 3 years, ever since I started college. I have definitely learned the art of rolling out my sleeping bag for a friend of a friend for a weekend stay in my apartment and understand what it is like to meet someone willing to let you sleep on their couch for the night and willing to treat you like a friend when you realize that you have no other place to stay for lack of transportation and/or money.
When I finally learned about CouchSurfing, I was psyched!! I think it is so great that such a thing exists that allows for people from all around the world to voluntarily provide a place to stay for someone in exchange for simply getting to meet them. Absolutely fantastic!! Whenever that "friend of a friend" spent the night in my apartment, I always thought to myself, "Wouldn't it be great if you could be so lucky to have this experience every time you travel?" Well, we can and I am so happy to be a part of it. I hope to soon have some more CouchSurfing stories to share!

Interests

Music, salsa, food, the accordion, piano, dancing, reading, photography, scrapbooking, pickles, olives, salt & vinegar chips, red wine, sangria, comedies, love stories, mysteries, thrillers, nature, hiking, sky-diving, volleyball, basketball, football, jet-skiing, sailing, surfing, driving, walking, flying, roadtrips, last-minute weekend get-aways, working, partying, traveling, hosting, guiding, teaching, learning, to be continued...

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Canada, France, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Gretchen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile