Logo orange

Gail Sirota

Norwalk, Connecticut, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gail's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 45, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Manager of volunteer services for a ...
  • MBA + undergrad in foreign language ...
  • From Columbia, MD
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

self-actualization, create meaningful relationships, self-expression, think freely

ABOUT ME

Hopefully others would agree that I am warm, sensitive, present, empathetic, kind and easy to get along with. I am extremely independent and (overly?) eager to please at times. I think I have a good sense of humor, and can be very goofy and playful. At other times I am very serious.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to listen more than I talk (though it doesn't always work!). I like authentic relationships with open-minded, accepting people. I want to meet more free-thinking people, artistic people and people who don't follow convention at the expense of personal self-expression and fulfillment. Sometimes I feel my mind is trapped in familial, cultural and societal norms & expectations; and I want to hear, pay attention to and follow my inner voice more.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to CS, but at some point would love to host and/or be hosted.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None yet! Though I will be hosting a workawayer next month.

Interests

I mostly like quiet, introspective activities -- such as painting, crafts, watching tv, doing puzzles (jigsaw and crossword), spending time with pets, watching movies, playing on the computer, and being in nature. If I am alone or with my husband I like to sing and dance like a rock star -- really feel it! :) I love to travel, though I am not a big sight-seer as far as historic or tourist attractions. I prefer to walk around through neighborhoods, watch people, eat & drink, etc. to try to take in the culture and language. I LOVE animals! I like to connect with people one-on-one instead of in large groups or at parties. I like to reflect on behaviors and interactions, am interested in interpersonal dynamics, personality traits, personal growth & development.

Music, Movies & Books

Books: The Red Tent; starting a book now about introversion; others but can't think of them now
Music: varied...Prince, American pop hits of 60's - now
Movies: for the most part, I love movies that I can watch over and over, even if they are not cinematic triumphs. I have a high tolerance for repetition if it's something I enjoy. It's hard for me to have "too much of a good thing."

One Amazing Thing I've Done

* Spending the night outside in open air in the salt pans of the Kalahari desert - so peaceful, serene, beautiful and with a southern hemisphere night sky full of stars
* Being with my mother, who was my best friend, when she took her last breath

Countries I've Visited

Botswana, France, Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, Namibia, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Gail's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile