Fotos de Graham Appleby

Verificado parcialmente

  • Pago verificado
  • Teléfono no verificado
  • Documento de identidad no verificado
  • Dirección no verificada

No acepta invitados

  • Última conexión hace 21 days

Únete a Couchsurfing para ver el perfil completo de Graham. ¡Es gratis!

Resumen

  • 232 Recomendacións 99 Confirmadas y positivas
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Russian, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Miembro desde 2006
  • x-ray physics
  • PhD
  • No se ha indicado la ciudad natal
  • Has completado un 100% de tu perfil

Sobre mí

CURRENT MISSION

to be away from home but to feel everywhere at home. To see the world, be the centre of the world but to remain hidden from the world

ABOUT ME

I am from a tiny town in New Zealand and I have been living in a tiny city in Germany to work for two years. I finished my post-doctoral fellowship then I travelled and let the universe guide me across Europe for 10 months for my third backpacking trip in Europe and then I did another physics job for at least two years and am living in Hamburg and work at the local particle accelerator

i am into (in randomised order)

-meeting people
-travelling
-different kinds of parties
-learning new things
-talking about strange philosophies
-bbqing
-couchsurfing
-wearing a tuxedo
-wondering about what is going on with the global economic crisis, wars, global warming and natural disasters and how it all somehow doesn't affect me at all
-reading
- cooking a delicious curry
-staying up late
-writing articles about x-ray physics
-sleeping in
-riding bikes very fast
-watching crazy comedy and other intense stuff
-drinking many cups of coffee
-collecting and wearing interesting hats
-watering plants regularly
-going to concerts
-watching cricket and eating cucumber sandwiches
-playing poker
-lifting heavy objects
-not getting sunburnt
-getting free trips for conferences

PHILOSOPHY

Learn as much as you can about anything you can and treat other people right.

Por qué estoy en Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I use CS as my main form of accomodation when I travel as well as to meet people anywhere, and when I lived in Germany I hosted whenever I could, which was quite a lot for a non-touristy university town. I have been to a tonne of meetings/events and introduced a lot of people to CS - it's basically my favourite hobby

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CSing in every country in Europe which I have visited and hosting people whenever I can

visited 38 states (16.8%)Create your own visited map of The World

Intereses

Travel, cycling, piano, weight-training, deutsch, español, cricket, snooker, poker, hiking, literature, history, cuisine, computers, coffee-drinking.

  • writing
  • literature
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • socializing
  • poker
  • piano
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • cricket
  • track and field
  • history
  • physics
  • tourism
  • snooker

Música, películas y libros

music: #1 is electro-swing, in distant 2nd comes a healthy mix ranging from Thievery Corporation, Ladytron, the Bamboos, Skeewiff, Breakestra to the Beatles, Soundgarden, Faith No More and Metallica to Outkast, De La Soul and 80s hiphop ... and anything with funky piano/keys and trumpets

Movies: The best movies i have seen in ages is Fantastic Planet (1973) and What the Bleep Do We Know

books: people just give me books. the last ones I read were 'the fountainhead' by Ayn Rand which kind of changed the way I think about stuff... 'The Corrections' by Johnathon Franzen which was well written but depressing... 'Ideas and Opinions' by Albert Einstein (about society, not physics) which was quite cool ... 'Jitterbug Perfume' by Tom Robbins which was real cool ... etc etc

Algo increíble que he hecho

walked the Milford Track in New Zealand (3 and a half days of walking in amazing scenery) ... 4 months CSing in the USA, back to NZ and then eastern/central europe in summer 2006 was also pretty good...

Spending 2 weeks driving from Frankfurt to Nouakchott (in the sahara) and staying there for 10 days in summer 2009

Enseña, aprende, comparte

i can tell you whatever you want to know about physics-ey stuff as well as some strange philosphies and words of wisdom which I have been coming up with lately

Países que he visitado

Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Western Sahara

Países en los que he vivido

Australia, Germany, New Zealand, United States

Insignias antiguas

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    49 Respaldars
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Insignia de pionero

Únete a Couchsurfing para ver el perfil completo de Graham. ¡Es gratis!

Mis grupos