Guillaume Mercier's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Guillaume’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Biology student
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Dear Couchsurfers,
My name is Guillaume, and I come from France. To present myself a bit: I live in the deep countryside in the west of France and I studied for 3 years Biology and Ecology at Bordeaux (great wines here, you guys probably know this city because of that, or rather thanks to that!). As a perfect country dweller, I am very close to the nature and to the farming world, but I also really like the cultural and artistic vibes you have in the cities. Finally, during the summer, I work with children as an organizer in summer camps, and I love this job! And finally finally, I play guitar and I sing (quite out of tune, but it does not really matter...)!

During my studies, I had the great opportunity to go to the Arctic for an exchange program. This semester in a 2000 people inhabitants lovely town, lost in the middle of the polar environment made me think differently. It made me think that life is full of beautiful things to see and awesome people to meet, and this, all over the world. So this year, I decided to stop my studies for travelling. During these trips, I use Couchsurfing (in the cities mainly) but also Workaway to favor exchanges, sharings, culture discoveries, music, beers and many other nice things you can do when you meet people and you immerse yourself with them in their cities.

Hope to see you (yes, you, the person who is reading this description) soon to have some great adventures and discussions!
Friendly,
Guillaume

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I almost said everything in the description, but I forgot to mention that I use Couchsurfing to sleep in a dry and not windy place as well... :)

Interests

  • environment
  • music
  • hiking
  • agriculture
  • ecology
  • trip

Music, Movies, and Books

I read many adventure books which relate the stories of people who did (hitch)hiking trips, scientific expeditions or that kind of things. For the movies, it is the same thing, I love inspiring stories of person who has leaft everything to live their adventures.

Music: rock, blues, jazz, reggae, and french variety (like Georges Brassens, who was also a great poet)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Live 5 months in the norwegian Arctic, in students barracks located in a town where you can not go out without a rifle to protect you against polar bears, and that was an amazing adventure...!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach french which is my mother tongue, english also, and in a less extent spanish. Thanks to my job during the summer with the kids, I know many small funny things to do and to narrate. And as a perfect french, I cook quite well, so I will be very happy to make you taste the french cuisine!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Exchanges, discussions, sharings, culture discoveries, music, beers, meetings and many other nice things you can do when you do Couchsurfing and you immerse yourself with people in their cities.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Chile, Croatia, Ireland, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Svalbard and Jan Mayen

Join Couchsurfing to see Guillaume’s full profile. It’s free!