Gijon, Asturias (Principality of), Spain

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see GUILLERR’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Happily unemployed for a while
  • Ongoing
  • From Gijón (Asturias, Spain)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, my name is Guillermo (not an easy name for non-Spanish speakers, but you can call me William). I'm from Asturias, in Northern Spain, and I consider it a great place for living and traveling... but every now and then I feel the need of exploring some other parts of the world. I've lived in Italy and Ireland, spent shorter periods in Germany, Argentina or Brasil and travelled a good piece of Europe and Latin America.
I studied Biochemistry and Biology, dedicated a few years to protein research and I loved it... but at some point I got tired of the lab routine and decided to travel and look for something else to do in life. I spent some year backpacking, went back home for a good while and since November 2014 I'm on the road again. We'll see for how long, we'll see if I find a place where I decide to establish myself for some time...
When I travel I like to do some sightseeing, but I'm more interested in meeting people, sharing experiences and getting to know a little bit about the place I'm visiting and locals life. That's why I prefer to spend some time in a place instead of roaming from one touristic spot to the next one.


"No me siento extranjero en ningún lugar,
donde haya lumbre y vino tengo mi hogar."

"I don't feel like a foreigner anywhere,
wherever there's fire and wine I have my place."
(It sounds much better in Spanish...)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I attended several CS parties during my visit to New York in Christmas 2007. My Irish couch became a popular option for Galway visitors in 2008. Then I got to know great couchsurfers during my Latinamerican trip in 2009-10. Afterwards I hosted often and organized and took part in many activities of the Asturian CS group. Since November 2014 I'm traveling, so it's time for me to surf and join new events.
This project has changed the way I travel and allowed me to get to know some of the most interesting people ever. Most experiences have been good, and some of them were so amazing that created solid bonds with people I had only met for hours.
It's a great way to save money when travelling, but the hospitality exchange concept goes much further and it allows having amazing interactions with like-minded people. That's why I consider really important completing profiles and writing sincere references of the people you get to know (specially if the experience has not been good). Sadly, many people seem to give more importance to the economic and dating possibilities, but there are still many great couchsurfers that commit to the original values.
I was really disappointed when CS was sold and the new owners and management don't seem to have understood users' priorities. I'm still a convinced couchsurfer, but can't agree with most of the decissions taken on the last few years. I contributed with some money to the original project, but that's a decission I regret now and encourage new users to not make the same mistake.


Traveling, traveling and talking to travelers.
Other than the previous I like soccer and most other sports, food, wine, beer (I'm becoming really interested in homebrewing), politics, languages, science, cinema and reading.
When travelling I used to enjoy museums and quite touristy sightseeing, but lately I'm becoming more and more interested in nature, hiking, talking to locals and slow travel.
I also have my party animal background, but lately I'm not that attracted to late bars with loud music. I'd rather choose a long talk with good beer or a small gig.

Music, Movies, and Books

MOVIES: Most Woody Allen. The big Lebowski is probably the only film that will make me laugh every time I watch it. Not specially interested in the latest Hollywood blockbuster.
Among my favourites: Pulp Fiction, True romance, The Shawshank redemption, Forrest Gump, In the name of the father, The usual suspects, La vita è bella, Les invasions barbares, El hijo de la novia, Tesis, Mar adentro,... also some Billy Wilder and classical comedies.

I read a lot, from the cereal box to books. I'll mention a few: Don Quijote, Cien años de soledad, 1984, The name of the rose, Inés y la alegría, The house of spirits, some short stories by Roberto Fontanarrosa,... I don't usually find the moment to open a book and end up reading online newspapers or magazines.

I'm also becoming addicted to some podcasts like This American Life, Freakonomics, Radiolab or Hardcore history.

MUSIC: I love some singer-songwriters in Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and Catalan: Serrat, Sabina, Silvio Rodríguez, Aute, Krahe, Caetano, Chico, Lluis Llach, Guccini, de André,...
In English I like Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, Van Morrison, Eric Clapton, Creedence Clearwater Revival,... Not really into disco/dance music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Erasmus in Sardinia was an awesome experience. Since then I have been very lucky to travel and meet lots of people, hard to choose one!

El Erasmus en Cerdeña fue una experiencia extraordinaria. Desde entonces he tenido la suerte de viajar y conocer muchísima gente, ¡es difícil escoger!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some Spanish, would like to practise my Italian and Portuguese or to learn some new language (French, Catalan,...).
I'm not an expert cook, although some of my guests have enjoyed my tortilla (Spanish omelette) or the fabada (typical Asturian bean stew).

Puedo enseñar algo de español, me gustaría practicar mi italiano y portugués o aprender alguna otra lengua (francés, catalán,...)
No soy un buen cocinero, aunque algunos de mis huéspedes han disfrutado de mi tortilla de patata o de la típica fabada asturiana

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Colombia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Brazil, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    21 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see GUILLERR’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups