Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Guillaume’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, French, Spanish; learning Chinese, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Office Administrator
  • Bachelor of Political Science, National Cheng Kung Univer...
  • From Beloeil, Québec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Here are some words that describe me (in random order): perfectionist (sometimes overly), visionary, vegetarian, environmentalist, trustworthy, honest, adaptable, spiritual, intellectual, night owl, sporty (road cycling, swimming, running) with good endurance, adventurous, broad-minded, generous at heart, moral, world citizen, liberal, justice driven, generally slow paced, very resourceful, very thrifty, stubborn, very calm, very rational but intuitive when needed, generally healthy, clean, orderly.

PHILOSOPHY

What a deep question to post here... Simply put, I think everybody is here on this small planet to learn and hopefully evolve to become a better soul. I believe that sooner or later, there is justice for everyone, although it may come in different forms. Therefore, that should be an (selfish) incentive to do good. Despite the imperfections of the current world order (or disorder), we should collectively strive to achieve a just, balanced and harmonious world by using the tools currently at our disposition to transform it as peacefully as possible. Isn't that in everybody's spiritual interest?

A FEW THINGS I COULD NEVER DO WITHOUT

...Include but not limited to: bicycle, internet, fridge & washing machine, motivation & inspiration, values & a reason to live, people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hope to meet likeminded CSers for a 'drink' or visit nearby attractions together. I may also be able to host in the future. Meeting fellow members abroad helps to learn about the places I visit from a local perspective and build friendships. I hope my exchanges with other members can be mutually beneficial. I think that's the spirit of this project.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had memorable encounters at CS gatherings, hosting, surfing and meeting other members for a 'drink'. It can be fun and rewarding to spend time together travelling in the surroundings, cooking or conversing depending on the situation. Other times, it's just for a place to slack off and get a good night's sleep.

Interests

  • environment
  • human rights
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • running
  • massage therapy
  • aviation
  • politics
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hang gliding
  • swimming
  • geopolitics
  • history
  • international relations
  • languages
  • philosophy
  • nudism
  • travel
  • travelling
  • linguistics
  • massage
  • spirituality
  • naturism
  • sleeping
  • vegetarianism
  • taiwan
  • veganism
  • spiritualism
  • vegetarian cooking
  • environmentalism
  • vegan cooking
  • diplomacy
  • translation
  • religious studies
  • road biking
  • information technology
  • climatology
  • horticulture
  • anthroposophy
  • proofreading

Music, Movies, and Books

Reading: Wikipedia, I love you! I mostly enjoy reading educational non-fiction.
Motion picture: I do not enjoy horror and action-only movies but I am otherwise flexible. (I like: The Imitation Game, Sense8, House of Cards [2013], Avatar, Versailles, Maleficent, The Adventures of Tintin [2011], Marketplace [CBC], Enquête [Radio-Canada], La Facture [Radio-Canada], insightful investigative reporting and documentaries.)
Music genres: pop opera, popular (rythmic), some Celtic, some classical, powerful vocals, high pitch male singers (especially a combination of the last two)
Singers: Russell Watson, James Vincent McMorrow, Amaury Vassili, Stromae, Garou, 林志炫 (Terry Lin), 五月天 (Mayday), 范逸臣 (Van Fan), Elton John but Céline Dion tops them all.
Food: I am vegetarian but don't consider myself a picky eater although Indian, Mediterranean and Japanese cuisines are among my favourite.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too many to list here. I've nearly died a few times. Does that count?

Teach, Learn, Share

Linguistics, translation/interpretation, proofreading, information and communications technology (especially VoIP), (Taiwan) politics, philosophy, travel tips (especially cheap transportation) and stories, casual massage, making and (especially) saving money, flirting (:P ...just joking)

SEEKING MASSAGE PARTNER
I would like to find a massage exchange partner in Victoria. I have learned some massage techniques from a professional but not taken any formal training. The positive feedback I have received is very encouraging. I enjoy giving and receiving, especially if we have good affinity. Please message me if interested. I am also open to massage exchange while travelling.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share most of the above mentioned skills depending on the circumstances. I also try to help with house chores when appropriate. I am generally very self-sufficient when travelling. I don't expect my hosts to spend too much of their time with me but I appreciate spending time together if they are available and we have good affinity. What a better way to understand local culture than through interaction with local hosts!

Countries I’ve Visited

Algeria, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bhutan, Brazil, China, Costa Rica, Denmark, Dominica, France, Grenada, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands Antilles, Nigeria, Panama, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S., Yemen

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Qatar, Spain, Taiwan

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Guillaume’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups