Gudlaug Björnsdottir's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gudlaug’s full profile.


  • 209 references 172 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English, Icelandic; learning German, Norwegian, Swedish
  • 62, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Working with AAC for profoundly disabled
  • MA in anthropology at University of Iceland
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm mostly hosting last minute/emergency couches.

Keep in mind that i prefer hosting on a short notice and that i have a 4 day hosting limit.


To meet people from all over the world


If you have general questions about Iceland, what to do and see, when to come etc. please post it in the Iceland group

I'm open minded and outgoing and love to meet new and different people from every part of the world.
Typical middle age woman? NOPE that's not me :-D
By the way I have a cats!

Be happy, be yourself, smile and live your life!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I cannot travel as much as I would like these days so instead i hope to meet new people and learn about their culture by offering them my couch and introduce them to Icelandic nature, culture, saga or anything they are interested in here in Iceland. For me it's all about cultural exchange!


My CS experience is mainly hosting but i've stayed with CS friends that i've hosted myself. I can truly say that joining CS is the best thing I've done. I've hosted so many wonderful people and made good friends all around the world.


I could not live without MUSIC!
Nature preservation, especially in Iceland.
Traveling and learning about different cultures.
Meeting new people from all over the world.

  • cats
  • culture
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

As my CS guests have discovered, music is a big part of my life. I listen to pretty much everything and I like to explore todays music. You can find me here

Books: Siddhartha, 100 years of solitude, The Master and Margarita,
Writers: Hermann Hesse, Gabriel García Marquez, Paulo Coelho,Mikhail Bulgakov, Louis de Berniéres, R.A. Salvatore......

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Been on top of the beautiful mountain Snæfell in East Iceland at 3 am in the morning in July 1987. Watching the sunrise in absolute stillness!!!

Teach, Learn, Share

For me it's all about cultural exchange!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Iceland, Norway

Old School Badges

  • 33 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gudlaug’s full profile.

My Groups