Logo orange

Gert Pretorius

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa

Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gert's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Artist
  • Degree in Marketing
  • From Centurion , Pretoria
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To meet a diverse group of individuals and to live and enjoy life for the short period of time that we have on it...thus being open minded for new cultures & experiences and to travel as long as I can for as long as I could.

ABOUT ME

When I do get the opportunity to travel I like to take the "off the beaten" track. I enjoy good food and wine and music. I like to be open to all kinds of experiences but maintain a healty balance. When in Rome , you do as the Romans...I have travelled into Africa with my 4wheel drive , but also love Europe and have some good friends in Amsterdam.Iam becoming a little bit older...more wiser , more relaxed , but can still enjoy myself.

PHILOSOPHY

Class is when you can walk with Kings and keep your virtue , but still speak to the common people and have the common touch....

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I only hosted some people

Interests

Music , food , Art , outdoor , culture , travel , safaris ( 4x4), friends , campfire ect

Music, Movies & Books

Oasis , U2 , Niel Diamond (ha-ha) , Robbie Williams ; Bastille , Young the giant , Ed Sheeridan , Kings of Leon. #old school rock & classic tunes!
3:10 to Yuma , Braveheart , Avatar, The grand Budapest Hotel. I read a lot of travel Magazines.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Camel Safari in Morocco , Skiing in Zermatt , Switzerland and doing the wine tour in Tuscany and enjoying the songs of Puccini in Lucca Italy. Driving a 4x4 in the Atacama desert and experiencing local culture on Easter Island , Chile. Also I went diving with crocodiles and stood on the edge of the Victoria waterfalls on the exact spot where Livingston stood when he first saw the falls.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know how to Overland...your survival guide for Africa. I also make the best barbecue!! I also know my fair bit of South African history.

..

What I Can Share With Hosts

...some good spost for a great Safari and one mean barbecue (braai). You will be hosted with South African hospitality. My house is centrally located to city centre and all the good spots and the train to the airport.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Kenya, Lesotho, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I've Lived In

England, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Gert's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile