Gus Tredwell's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gus’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Musician
  • University of Nottingham
  • From Windsor, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

Hi, I'm Gus and I live in Bristol, UK as a full-time professional musician. I play and teach classical piano, and I also write and arrange music.

I'm very easy-going and I love meeting people from different places all over the world and asking them loads of questions! If I had one superpower, it would be to master all languages fluently. Then I could listen in on everyone's conversations without them realising I could understand :D

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

For when I travel. I think an important part of travelling is connecting with local people and seeing how others live, and seeing which things are the same across various cultures and which things are different.

I would also like to host travellers to Bristol, but am not currently in a position to do so.

I am planning a trip to Japan, and would like to try and find someone to couchsurf with in Kyoto specifically.

Interests

Playing the piano.

Foreign cultures and languages - when I was little I used to take a toy out of the plastic bag, and then put the toy aside and read the bag, where it had the suffocation warning written in about forty different languages. I used to love copying them all out! Despite this I am only fluent in English, but I'm reasonable at French and have just started Spanish. One day I would also like to try Italian, German and Mandarin.

Physical stuff - I like exercising and trying different forms of it. Last year I did climbing, and this year I'm trying salsa dancing and bodyweight exercises.

Reading, movies, all that usual stuff. Socialising.

  • singing
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • exercise
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • classical music
  • piano
  • rock climbing
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - it changes depending on what I'm learning - I couldn't give a favourite. My style is mainly classical but there are many pieces I love from all different styles. My rule is if it's good, it's good!

Movies - Blade Runner, The Shawshank Redemption, Twelve Angry Men, Persepolis, 2001 Space Odyssey

Books - Anything by Roald Dahl, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Harry Potter, His Dark Materials, Louis de Bernières, My Family and Other Animals.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Played the piano while being backed by a full orchestra. I felt like a celebrity for one evening!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'll learn whatever you want to teach. I'll probably ask you to teach me phrases in your language.

I can teach you the piano, or most things music-related. I can give you an introduction to the history and different styles of classical music.

Sharing - conversation, music, company.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can tell you about life in England! I can do the washing up. I can sing you a song. I can reach things from high places.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Gus’s full profile. It’s free!