Robert Strobl's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Robert’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 6 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Malay, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Guitarist and Software Developer
  • B. Sc. in IT-Systems-Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am living a location-independent live with my two professions as a software developer and musician.

However, these days I am mostly based in Kuala Lumpur/Malaysia where I run a development shop and perform with my two gypsy jazz bands (Zinedine Tsigane and Douche Manouche). During my free-time I love to explore the south-east Asian neighbouring countries together with my friends.

Every summer and for christmas I'm going back to Germany for a couple of months, where I am mostly based in Berlin.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think that through Couchsurfing you get a different perspective of the places you visit since you meet people who are actually living there. It's great to get to know a place through the host's eyes and maybe even be integrated their daily grind and meet with their friends as well.


Software development, Jazz music (especially gypsy jazz), playing guitar and saxophone (and trying any other instrument that I will get into my hand).

I love food that much, that I think that I spend most of my money on fancy restaurants. And I love cooking myself as well.

  • performing arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • partying
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • jazz
  • guitar
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Head-on
Music: Django Reinhardt, Miles Davis, ...
Books: Faust, Steppenwolf, Books from Paulo Coelho, ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Founding a gypsy jazz band in Kuala Lumpur.
Developing software for Snoop Dogg.
Visiting the catacombs of Paris for having a party.
Travel as a musician in south-east Asia.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Malaysia, Uruguay

Join Couchsurfing to see Robert’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups