GYPZSEECEE's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 8 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see GYPZSEECEE’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 67, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • I do what I enjoy.
  • I've had 2 yrs college & graduated Tech School
  • From Southwest United States
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To help others as they travel, to learn from them what I can and to share with them whatever I know that they may want to know.

ABOUT ME

I am a little girl
with many senseless fears.
I am a full-grown woman
who cries with life's cruel tears.

I am a little elf
who frolics in a stream.
I am a fairy maiden
with many broken dreams.

I am a wandering mind
in search of love and care.
I am a simple soul
who must belong somewhere.

I am a roaming spirit
without a destiny.
I am a single person
who drifts eternally.

I am an earth-bound ego,
unleashed - and yet, not free.
I am all of these,
But most of all, I'm me!

PHILOSOPHY

"Desiderata"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now, I offer a *couch*, which is an air mattress on the floor in my small living room and I have some blankets and a pillow. I have bathroom facilities and towels for bathing and relaxing, a kitchen available for cooking your food or mine, TV, radio, DVD or record player, conversation, or participation in my crafts, if you like. I generally stay up late at nite, but you may go to bed early if you please, as you would not be disturbed because I would be in my study on the computer and you would not notice me when I go to bed. I hope you like pets, as I have a dog and 3 cats, as well, who are all very friendly, like me.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

There was a young man traveling on bicycle, from Canada to San Diego, through my small town, last summer. I just happened to meet him outside my home, as he was asking for directions to a local campsite. I didn't know of any, so I asked him if he would like to pitch his tent in my backyard. He said that would be great. We sat up talking late into the nite. His name was Garth. He thought it funny that the U.S. used so much signage on it's streets. We made friends and he made breakfast the next morning. Then he went on his way. It was a wonderful experience for me. A few weeks later, I got a postcard from him, thanking me for my hospitality. That was so sweet. I thought I would like to do that again, but didn't know how to contact any travelers, until my son told me about this girl that would be coming to stay at his house. That is how I found this site and I think it is the most wonderful thing anyone ever thought of.

Interests

My interests are many and varied, but have changed over the last few years, as I have been afflicted with post-polio and fibrolmyalgia and am now limited to what I can do in a wheelchair or on crutches.

I love the outdoors, woods, mountains, beaches, and deserts. I read about them in National Geographic. I used to do a lot of walking wildlife trails, hiking, camping, beach combing, traveling; now these are limited. However, I still go to the wildlife trails that accommodate me; hike lower trails, with my son, that I can get to; go camping with him whenever I can, and go to the beach as often as possible. I did take a short trip to the eastern side of my state last summer.

I am interested in meeting all kinds of people from all cultures and all walks of life. I am particularly interested in the Native American cultures and learn what I can about them. I enjoy reading National Geographic about other cultures and their history.

I like to make things, arts and crafts of all kinds; jewelry (necklaces, earrings, bracelets, anklets, pins, barrettes), beadwork, leatherwork, dream catchers, mandellas, small headdresses, macrame plant hangers, pet rocks, bird houses, and small creatures from shells, rocks, and sticks. I have recently started making wedding bouquets, bouteniers, floral arrangements, garters, and accessories of silk flowers.
I have many house plants, which I enjoy greatly, as well as gardening, flowers, and yard plants.

  • pets
  • cats
  • dogs
  • wildlife
  • arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • walking
  • crafts
  • gardening
  • flowers
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • leatherworking
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • history
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

My all-time favorite movies are "On Golden Pond" and "The Blue Lagoon", but there are many more; "The Legend of The Fall", "The Sound of Music", "Dr. Zhivago", "The Greatest Story Ever Told", "Fern Gully", and all Shirley Temple and Elvis Presley movies, just to name a few.

I like all kinds of music, except for rap, hip-hop, and new rock. I favor country, light jazz, sax solos, flute solos, spiritual vocals and instrumentals, and camp-fire sing-a-longs. I like soft easy listening in the evenings and nature-sound meditation music to sleep by.

I like to read fiction and non-fiction about other cultures, especially Native American and Amish. I read National Geographic from cover to cover because they always have stories of interest and mystery about things I wouldn't think to read about otherwise. I read a lot of how-to books about anything I might like to try to do and I like to read religious and spiritual/mystical books, as well. I like mystery, adventure, poetry, biographies, art instruction and educational material.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think the most amazing thing I've seen was in my earlier days in Long Beach, Calif. in the 60's, when I was privileged to participate with a group of doctors and lay people who came together and opened a free clinic for those who were less fortunate and could not afford medical care. We all worked together and even offered beds to homeless women with children who had nowhere else to go.

Teach, Learn, Share

Seek God first.
Be prepared. Plan ahead.
Don't over-water your plants.
Be humble. Don't over-rate yourself.
Be loyal. Don't over-use your friends.
Be truthful. Don't tell secrets.
Be helpful. You may need help sometime.
Be kind. Do no harm to others.
Protect the earth. We need her.

Countries I’ve Visited

Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see GYPZSEECEE’s full profile. It’s free!