Monali Varaiya

Berkeley, California, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Monali’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Currently..student-ing
  • Chemical Biology, South Asian Studies
  • From San Diego, CA ; right now at school in Berkeley
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me


Live in joy and keep doing my best! Make some wonderful connections and make my world a smaller place :). after college I want to spend a year or more in India and Indonesia


Outgoing, friendly, open-minded, fun-loving! I'd say I'm a pretty warm person and easy to get along with.

Undergraduate at UC Berkeley studying chemistry, and do research on the coordination chemistry of biological iron and iron chelation therapy. But I'm also really into South and Southeast Asian related subjects! Need to figure out what I'll end up pursuing post-graduation.


Have gratitude and appreciation. There are so many nice small surprises and things to be happy about (but I guess it's most important to remember this when things aren't going favorably!)

I like how someone once asked me, "What's making you smile?" It was kind of a nice twist on 'What's good in your life?'...ok maybe it was the context that was so memorable..

We don’t have time for things, until we create time for these things. If something is important enough to us, we will find the time, regardless of how busy we are. End of story.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I heard about CS through a friend of mine when he was traveling through Europe this summer. It's a great and fun idea! Would love to take advantage of it when I'm in Europe this winter break, and look forward to hosting others in Berkeley.


Pretty new to it still..I've heard nothing but good things about it though.


People who are excited about what they do! They inspire me. Playing gamelan (Javanese and Balinese), Bharatnatyam, Odissi, and Balinese dance. Cooking, reading, hiking and biking and being outdoors, dancing and going out, seeing concerts and performances, spirituality, science, fun facts, singing and musicking with others, playing violin, quality conversations and lots of laughs, cute/cheesy/charming things, exploring..and I'm sure a lot of other things that I've not yet been exposed to!

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Samuel Barber, Thomas Newman, gamelan, Dengue Fever, Bollywood, acoustic, playing Dvorak and Tchaikovsky in orchestra is always super fun! Amon Tobin, Thievery Corporation (what a great concert that was!), Hindustani classical, other things that I've heard and don't know the name of..I'd like to be introduced to more!

Books: Currently I'm really into Malcolm Gladwell. A few that I can always pick up and not be bored of:
The Prophet
The Great Gilly Hopkins
The Namesake (and others by Jhumpa Lahiri)
Harry Potter
I wish I could list more! Haven't been reading so much lately =/

Movies: goofy/sweet ones. I also saw Kinsey recently and really liked it.

Teach, Learn, Share

Some Indian cooking?

Join Couchsurfing to see Monali’s full profile. It’s free!